## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING May 12, 2025

The Regular Meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on May 5, 2025.

The meeting began with offering public comment. During the "Good News Report," M. Wortman recognized several EPS students earned top placements in the 2025 Virginia Frank Memorial Writing Contest! Congratulations to the following students whose written works were recognized with this accomplishment: Kyrav Rohatgi, Manchester, 1st Place - 5th Grade Division; Emma Anderson, Woodbrook, 3rd Place - 5th Grade Division; Makayla Robles, Elkhorn Ridge MS, 2nd Place - 6th Grade Division; Lia Castro, Elkhorn North Ridge MS, 1st Place - 8th Grade Division; and Lauryn Bausch, Elkhorn North Ridge MS, 2nd Place - 8th Grade Division. Also, congratulations to ESHS sophomore Athreya Reddy who recently earned first place at the 2025 Metropolitan Science and Engineering Fair and finished as runner-up in the 2025 Nebraska Junior Academy of Sciences State Science Fair! In addition, Elkhorn North Ridge Middle School principal, Deb Garrison, was recognized as the Region II Middle School Principal of the Year. Congratulations to Deb on this well-deserved honor! Also, the ESHS art department has been recognized for various awards recently, including: Individual works earned 21 Gold Keys, 12 Silver Keys, and 9 Honorable Mentions at the 2024-25 Scholastic Art Show; Student art portfolios earned 2 Gold Keys, 4 Silver Keys, and 1 Honorable Mention at the 2024-25 Scholastic Art Show; The work of Roman Maglinger was recognized as one of 5 "Best of Show" pieces earning the American Visions Nominee Award. Artwork created by ESHS students Roman Maglinger and Morgan Beckert will be featured in this year's Nebraska Governor's Residence Art Show. Also, Elkhorn Grandview Middle School was recognized as a Unified Champion Banner School this year, recognizing their work in fostering an inclusive and welcoming environment for all students. Congratulations to all EGMS staff, students, and families on this honor! Lastly, Manchester music teacher, Julie Patchen, was awarded the 2025 Vivi Innovator Award, recognizing her exceptional leadership and innovation in using Vivi to transform teaching and learning. Congratulations, Julie!

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, April 14, 2025, approval of minutes for Monday, April 28, 2025, approval of May bills for payment, and exchange students as presented.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes, M. Wortman - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to accept the resignation of Amanda Melcher effective at the end of the 2024-2025 contract year. Additionally, approved the release of contract for Brittany Haupt, Taylor Findlay, Becky Terrel, and Angie Lore for the 2025-26 school year.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of Kaley Clark, Lauren Hofer, Marcy Kezar, Carrie Kolar, Leah Roark, Audrey Rubish, Grace Sinsel, Jayden Stahl, Corrie Suhr, Amy Frigerio, and Elvira Khan for the 2025-26 school year. Additionally, the board approved CADRE teacher Allison Ambrose for 2025-26 in partnership with the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, M. Wortman – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the updated Rules and Procedures to implement Policy 407.05 - Attendance Options for Certified Employees with School-Aged Children.

**CARRY-OVER MOTION** 

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve a contract with Prairie Construction for a base bid of \$2,647,000 to construct a storm-safe addition at Elkhorn High School plus Alternate #1 for \$49,000 to construct underground storm water detention associated with this project.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by J. Shatel to approve a contract with Sodexo for Food Service Management Services beginning July 1, 2025.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes, M. Wortman - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the proposed wage or salary and benefit packages for all support staff (excluding District Maintenance) and administrators for the 2025-26 school year as recommended by the Negotiations Committee.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; M. Wortman - yes; R. Vokt - yes; A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:22 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, June 9, 2025 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.