ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 14, 2025

The Regular Meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on April 7, 2025.

The meeting began with offering public comment. During the "Good News Report," J. Shatel Elkhorn Grandview Middle School students Marlee Amill, Jordan Balters, and Alyssa Formanes were recently selected to perform at Carnegie Hall as part of the Middle School Honors Performance Series. Their acceptance highlights exceptional talent, dedication, and musical achievements demonstrated through a rigorous audition process. Congratulations, students, and best of luck at your performance this June! Also, EHS Activities Director, Sara Fjell, was recently awarded the Mike Purdy/Mike McMahon Emerging Athletic Administrator award by the NSAA. Congratulations, Mrs. Fjell, and thank you for all you do to support EHS student athletes! Additionally, 4 EPS students were among nearly 60 young Nebraska writers recognized with Nebraska Scholastic Writing Awards recently. Congratulations to the following students on this academic achievement: Armando Alvarez, Elkhorn Ridge Middle School; Poetry: Honorable Mention; Roman Maglinger, Elkhorn South High School; Personal Essay & Memoir: Honorable Mention; Joslyn Smith, Elkhorn North High School; Novel Writing: Honorable Mention; Annah Vogelpohl, Elkhorn Ridge Middle School; Science Fiction and Fantasy: Honorable Mention; Short Story: Silver Key. Furthermore, congratulations to Elkhorn North Ridge Middle School student Lia Castro on being named a Nebraska World Language Distinguished Scholar in the Spanish category! This award recognizes leadership in language learning, commitment to language study, appreciation for cultural diversity, and communicative competence. IN addition, Elkhorn North High School band director, Ben Petrmichl, was recently recognized with the Jack R. Snider Outstanding Young Band Director award. Congratulations to Mr. Petrmichl, and thank you for all you do to support ENHS student musicians! Lastly, congratulations to ESHS senior Cambell Keber for receiving the 2025 Community Leader Award from the Department of Health and Human Services! The Community Leader Award recognizes a person or group of people who have dedicated their time (paid or unpaid) to helping individuals with developmental disabilities.

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the Consent Agenda that includes: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, March 10, 2025, approval of April bills for payment, and exchange students as presented.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes, M. Wortman - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to accept the resignation of Brittnie Abler, Jaymie Argotsinger, Hannah Barnes, Rachel Bruce-Sagert, Kyle Conroy, Alex De La Cruz. Cassandra DeStefano, Joelle Feeney, Amy Glass, Julie Gorup, Adrienne Kennedy, Joel Kiihne, Amber Klein, Daniel Lisch, Shannon Lister, Claire Maliszewski, Joni McKinley, Molly Ottens, Paul Pechous, Lisa Richter, Stephanie Scheer, Kara Vandersnick, Lauren West, Trina Yale, Dara Coffey, Rachel Harger, Kristen Schlais, and Taylor Perry effective at the end of the 2024-2025 contract year. Additionally, to accept the resignation of Natalie Miller effective immediately.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of Lindsay Baker, Melissa Brott, Ai Couret, Karne Croston, Elaina Fanton, Nathanael Hindman, Hollie Hoffman, Michelle Jewett, Heidi Ketchmark, Sydney Lardy, Natalie Leahy, Marisa McClintock, Wade McVey, Christina Moore, Jordan Ohlrich, Brianna Peterson, Laura Prochaska, Sara Rodwell, Justin Schriever, Brooke Sieff, Shannon Stemple, Alyssa Coccio, Katelyn Krause, Laney Pfrang, McKenna Wolfgram, Taylor Findlay, Dan Feickert, and Abby Magers for the 2025-26 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, M. Wortman – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by J. Shatel to approve a contract with Downs Electric for the amount of \$1,757,500 for upgrades to the ceilings and lighting at Elkhorn High School.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve a contract with Safe Defend for the amount of \$475,450 to install lockdown buttons in all district school buildings. Additionally, move to approve a contract with Computer Cable Connection of Nebraska for \$235,000 to install network drops as part of this project.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve a contract with CDW-G for \$322,553.50 for wireless access points for Stone Pointe and Iron Bluff elementaries and the addition to Elkhorn Valley View Middle School. The district is scheduled to receive an E-Rate funding reimbursement of approximately \$129,000 for this purchase.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, M. Wortman – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing pending litigation.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

The Board entered Closed Session at 7:06 PM and adjourned the meeting at 8:02 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, May 12, 2025 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Additionally, a Special Meeting and a Board Work Session will be held on April 28, 2025 at 2:00 PM at the Teacher Training and Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.