## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING FEBRUARY 12, 2024

The Regular Monthly Meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, N. Rogic-Greufe, S. Ringenberg, J. Shatel, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on February 5, 2024.

The meeting began with Student Council reports from each high school followed with public comment. During the "Good News Report," S. Ringenberg recognized ERMS 8th grade student, AnDru Rotgers, who recently won 1st place in the Patriot's Pen Writing Contest for his essay focusing on how inspiring the rights granted to US citizens are. Congratulations to AnDru on this accomplishment and thank you for representing EPS! Also, congratulations to Maddalena Intravartolo, 8th grader at Elkhorn North Ridge MS, who recently participated in the 2024 Martin Luther King "Living the Dream" Competition, where she won first place in the Spoken Word category! Additionally, on Wednesday, January 24, the Elkhorn Board of Education witnessed education in action as they visited Arbor View, Hillrise and Westridge elementary schools, Elkhorn Middle School, and Elkhorn High School. Student and administrator-led tours showcased the outstanding work of educators throughout the district. The morning culminated with a meal and discussion with the Elkhorn High School student council. A big thank you to the students, staff and administrators for maintaining the excellence in Elkhorn Public Schools! Lastly, all three EPS high schools placed in the Top 10 in the "Sodexo Healthy High School Challenge", earning them a \$1,000 prize each for making healthy food choices at school!

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for the Monday, January 8, 2024 Regular Monthly Meeting, and approval of February bills for payment.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg – yes, M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the resignation of Lauren Bogdanoff, Melissa Christensen, Chad Crouch, Lauren Dunn, Bridget Kluthe, Bobbi Lawhorn, Elizabeth Loghry, Lynn Maas, Pete Marsh, Lexi Miers, Jess Sturm, Brittany Thompson, Elizabeth Tyler, Rachel Waddington, Nathan Wallace, Stephanie Radda, and Sasha Smoot at the end of the 2023-24 contract year. Additionally, to approve the release of contract for Joslyn Mandl effective March 29, 2024.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; M. Wortman - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of teachers Sabrina Ayala, Naomi Barr, Kyler Beekman, Kennedy Brester, Brittani Christensen, Amy Eisenmenger, Christa Fechner, Kristin Foreman, Tiffany Kavvadias, Matt Klein, Jaquelyn Muller, Jamie Ohlendorf, Sara Pittack, Shaylin Ryan, April Stevens, Rebecca Terrell, Erin Goltl, Signe Hordvik, Jessie Jordan, Emily Pieper, Jay Sealer, and amend the contract of Lauren West from 0.6 FTE to 0.8 FTE for the 2024-25 school year. Additionally, to approve the appointment of Casey Wolfe effective immediately and Tracy Blair effective April 1, 2024.

VOTE: M. Wortman - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the teacher contracts for 2023-24 CADRE teachers McKenna Becker, April Mull, and Ashley Stevens. Additionally, to approve CADRE teachers Danielle Calpin, Kayla Nunnenkamp, Alexis Saxton, and Sydney Spanel for 2024-25 in partnership with the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to accept the resignation for Cathy Nelson, Tracey Nielson, Patty Lorensen, Kelly Eby, Kari Pilkington, Teresa Vann, and Michele Stoecklin effective at the end of the 2023-24 school year and to approve the Early Retirement Incentive Program as requested.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by R. Vokt to cancel the contract of Blake Neumann for the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to accept the bid from Prairie Construction for \$4,745,000 for the Elkhorn Ridge Middle School renovation project.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve a contract with All-Makes for \$250,006.62 for updated student and teacher furniture at Elkhorn Ridge Middle School.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by R. Vokt to approve a contract with Metal Door and Hardware for \$145,788 for 129 doors for elementary classrooms.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to award a contract with Push, Pedal, Pull for \$230,180 for weight room equipment at Elkhorn South High School.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by R. Vokt to approve a contract for \$6,804,168 with Nemaha Sports Construction for turf softball and baseball infields and a multipurpose turf field at Elkhorn, Elkhorn South, and Elkhorn North high schools.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the Interlocal Agreements with SID 613 and 629 for public improvements pertaining to the Elementary #13 site along with the Subdivision Agreement with SID 609 for public improvements on the school site owned by the District at 216th and Ida.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by J. Shatel to approve a contract with Heartland Concrete Company, LLC. in the amount of \$1,144,000.28 for the parking lot expansion project at Elkhorn South High School.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; M. Wortman – yes; J. Shatel – yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Curriculum and Extra Curriculum Proposals as recommended by the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to adopt the calendar for the 2025-26 school year as recommended by the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; J. Shatel – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:24 PM. The next Regular Monthly Meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, March 11, 2024, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.