## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING DECEMBER 4, 2023

The Regular Monthly Meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, S. Ringenberg, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on November 27, 2023.

The meeting began with public comment being offered. During the "Good News Report," M. Wortman recognized Sagewood Elementary is now the proud home to published student author, Sky Myers, whose recently debuted novel, "Big Foot's Big Birthday Party", is now available for purchase. Congratulations to Sky on this amazing accomplishment! Also, Elkhorn North Ridge Middle School World Languages teacher, Alicia Dallman Shoemaker, was recently recognized as the 2024 National Language Teacher of the Year! Congratulations to Ms. Dallman Shoemaker on this amazing honor! It is a true testament to your dedication and unwavering commitment to the students of EPS.

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, November 13, 2023 and approval of December bills for payment.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes, M. Wortman - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to grant the release of contract for Kalyn Kathol effective immediately and accept the resignation for Cymbre Herringer and Sarah Zimmerman effective at the end of the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve Cindy Larson for a teacher contract in 2024-25 and Teigan DeLong for a teacher contract effective January 2, 2024.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the new personnel for the 2024-25 school year in response to student enrollment and district growth as presented and recommended by the administration and the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee at an estimated cost of \$2,311,000. New special education positions are eligible for immediate hire and start during the second semester if possible.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by J. Shatel to appoint Jackson/Jackson and Associates as the architect for Elementary #13 and #14, the addition at Elkhorn Valley View Middle School, the Young Adult Program classroom addition, the addition to the District warehouse, and the renovations at Elkhorn Ridge Middle School and the Elkhorn High School Auditorium as per the recommendation of the Buildings and Grounds committee and Administration.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes, M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by R. Vokt to appoint Lamp Rynearson as the designer and engineer for the softball, baseball, and multipurpose fields at Elkhorn North, Elkhorn South, and Elkhorn High School, and design and engineering for the parking lot paving projects at Elkhorn High School and Elkhorn South High School as per the recommendation of the Buildings and Grounds committee and Administration.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:41 PM. The next Regular Monthly Meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday January 8, 2024, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.