## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING JULY 17, 2023

The Regular Monthly Meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:33 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, J. Shatel, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. N. Rogic-Greufe was absent. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on July 7, 2023.

The meeting began with public comment being offered. During the "Good News Report," M. Wortman congratulated NSAA Cup Standings were recently announced, naming all 3 EPS high schools in the Top 10 All-Class standings for their respective classes. Notably, Elkhorn North HS earned 1st place standing in Class B All-Schools, as well as the Girls and Boys classifications. Congratulations to all athletes, participants, coaches, and sponsors! Additionally, six EPS Class of 2023 graduates were recently recognized by Governor Pillen and the Nebraska Department of Education for receiving a perfect 36 on their ACT including: Charleston Berryman, Louis Giacalone, Leo Pechous, Mason Shields, Safal Sapkota, and Adam Svoboda. Congratulations to all on this academic achievement!

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda; approval of minutes for Monday, June 12, 2023; approval of July bills for payment; and approval of exchange students.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes, M. Wortman - yes; R. Vokt - yes

The annual public policy hearing was called to order at 6:35 PM per Neb 79-7824 requiring that the Board Curriculum and American Civics Committee accept public testimony related to Nebraska's American Civics Education Law. Public comment was offered and the hearing was adjourned at 6:35 PM.

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by M. Wortman to approve the resignation and release of contract for Shaun McMahon and Lauren West for the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; M. Wortman – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the appointment of Paul Martin for the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the continued pilot of Personnel Leave Buy-Back Program, the Sick Leave Incentive Program, and the Substitute Incentives for the 2023-24 school year as proposed by the administration.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve updates and additions to Policy 1006.01 – Community Use of School Facilities, Policy 502.10 - Dual Enrollment of Resident Non-Public School Students, Policy 504.02 – Conduct and Discipline Code and Student Handbooks at all levels, Policy 504.11 - Initiations, Hazing, and Outside Organizations, Policy 507.01 - Health/Nurse Services, (new) Policy 507.15 – Seizure Safe Schools, (new) Policy 507.16 – Behavioral Points of Contacts, and (new) Policy 706.08 – Food Service Procurement.

NO VOTE: CARRY-OVER MOTION

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by R. Vokt to approve a \$.10 breakfast and \$.15 lunch increase to the price of an elementary, middle and high school student meals for the 2023-24 school year as recommended by Sodexo and the Nebraska Department of Education.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve a 3-year contract with Chief School Bus for district bus services.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve a parent pay bus rates as recommended by the administration for the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes

R. Lindquist and B. Habrock presented information regarding District growth and facility needs.

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the District Option Enrollment Capacity Resolution as presented for the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes, A. Parks – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:20 PM. The next Regular Monthly Meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, August 14, 2023, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.