## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING June 12, 2023

The Regular Monthly Meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. M. Wortman was absent. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on June 7, 2023.

The meeting began with public comment being offered. During the "Good News Report," J. Shatel congratulated Olivia Volk, ESHS Class of 2023 grad, on earning the top award of "Best of Show" in the Young Artist Exhibition, an event that features over 300 pieces of artwork created by metro-area middle and high school students. Notably, this is the second consecutive year that an ESHS student has received this honor so additional congratulations and many thanks to all ESHS art educators for their dedication to developing excellent artists! Additionally, members of the inaugural EPS-UNO Cohort dove into their first of 3 courses last week, marking the start of a District initiative aimed at assisting EPS staff members with laying a foundation for furthering their education in alignment with the EPS mission of developing lifelong learners.

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes of the Monday, May 8, 2023 Regular Meeting, and approval of June bills for payment.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes, N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the release of contract for Katelyn McCarthy for the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the appointment of the following teachers for the 2023-24 school year: Michaela Gallo, Brittnie Abler, Crystal Gaspar, Jodie Greenberg, Kristen Lenz, Olivia Loetterle, Margaret Rainey, Morgan Ulrich.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve early graduation requests as recommended by the high school principals from Elkhorn North, Elkhorn South, and Elkhorn High School.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the proposed Superintendent Contract with Superintendent Bary Habrock effective July 1, 2023 through June 30, 2026 as recommended by the Negotiations Committee.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt, A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to recognize the Elkhorn Education Association as the bargaining agent for 2024-25 school year for all positions within the current Negotiated Agreement.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes, A. Parks – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:05 PM. The next Regular Monthly Meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, July 17, 2023, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.