ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING May 8, 2023

The Regular Monthly Meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on May 5, 2023.

The meeting began with public comment being offered and reports from Student Council representatives from all three high schools in the district. During the "Good News Report," R. Vokt noted that the following EPS administrators were recently recognized with a Region II Leadership Award: Chad Soupir, EVVMS Principal - Middle School Principal of the Year; Dan Radicia, ENHS Principal - High School Principal of the Year; Mike Tomjack, EGMS Principal - Distinguished Service Award. Congratulations to all on this well-deserved recognition!

All 5 EPS middle schools recently teamed up to raise money for the Foodbank of the Heartland Backpack program, bringing in over \$26,000 and over 600 food items. And, thanks to a corporate matching donation to double the funds, their efforts will feed 320 food-insecure children for an entire school year!

Board members Renee Vokt and Mark Wortman recently attended the first NASB Legislative Advocacy Day to learn more about this session's legislative bills affecting education. Thank you, Renee and Mark, for representing EPS at this state event!

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes of the Monday, April 10, 2023 Regular Meeting and Monday, April 24, 2023 Work Session, and approval of May bills for payment.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes, N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the resignation of Claire Chvala, Alyssa Crowley, Lisa Devine, Regina Guinn, Elizabeth Koeneke, and Haley Steiner at the end of the 2022-23 contract year. Additionally, to approve the release of contract for Barton Cron, Jacey Hammer, and Meggie Steiner for the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, M. Wortman – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to accept the resignation of Janet Peterson effective July 14, 2023, and authorize the Superintendent to execute an agreement to that effect and immediately place such agreement in her personnel file.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the appointment of teachers: Ashley Albers, Megan Bandy, Heather Bohac, Alexandra Bousema, Aaron Boyle, Kyle Conroy, Janice Fitch, Allison Fitzpartick, Jorja Gable, Chelsea Gordon, Sara Horstman, Christine Jensen, Amber Klein, Kenzie Kneeland, Piper Layne, Kara Martin, Molly Ottens, Angela Palmer, Jaiyme Platt, Karen Stec, Karalee Thomas, Michelle Watson, Lauren West, Natalie Miller, Michael Wolf, and Leonardo Brandolini Kujmanm. Additionally, to approve the administrative contract and reassignment of Ashton Zabrowski as Sagewood Elementary Principal.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the proposed wage or salary and benefit packages for all support staff (excluding District Maintenance) and administrators for the 2023-24 school year as recommended by the Negotiations Committee.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt, A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by J. Shatel to approve revisions to Policy 503.01 – Compulsory Attendance, Administrative Rules and Procedures to Implement Policy 505.04 – Fundraising, Policy 402.13 – Employee Use of Technology, Policy 405 – Employee Conduct and Appearance, Policy 606.02 – Objections to Instructional Materials, and Policy 507.10 – Student Wellness. Additionally, to remove Policy 502.12 – Learning Community Open Enrollment Program.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes, A. Parks – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the proposed curriculum renewal for 6-12 Career and Technical Education as recommended by the Curriculum and Americanism Committee.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the updated Language Arts and Math curriculum cards to reflect the current Nebraska state standards as recommended by the Curriculum and Americanism Committee.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Interlocal Agreement with SID 609 and Douglas County for Elkhorn Public School's portion of public improvements to 216th Street. The reimbursements will only be made after construction would commence on Elkhorn Public School's site.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by M. Wortman to approve the contract with Culinex, Inc. in the amount of \$749,555 for food service supplies and equipment, which will be funded from the district Hot Lunch account.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by R. Vokt to approve a contract with Prairie Construction in the amount of \$989,000 for construction of a restroom, concessions, and storage building at the Elkhorn High School ball field complex. Also, approving a \$90,000 change order for a total cost of \$899,000.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; M. Wortman - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve a contract with CDWG in the amount of \$217,524.84 for purchase of 156 desktop computers for all 3 high schools' CAD, Art, and Journalism computer labs.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:25 PM. The next Regular Monthly Meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, June 12, 2023, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.