ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 10, 2023

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and M. Wortman. R. Vokt was absent. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on April 7, 2023.

The meeting began with reports from Student Council representatives from all three high schools in the district. During the "Good News Report," J. Shatel offered congratulations to Jay Athipatla, 8th grader at EVVMS, who recently competed in the Nebraska Mathcounts state competition, earning 1st place in the individual competition, and earning the opportunity to represent Nebraska at Nationals in Florida. Notably, the EVVMS Mathcounts team also placed 3rd in the team competition consisting of over 75 teams. Congratulations to all who participated! Next, congratulations to ESHS junior, Hal Widhalm, whose artwork entitled "Red String" was one of 18 selected to be featured in the My Life in Nebraska art exhibit at the Governor's Mansion this summer! Also, ESHS senior, Aditi Rai was selected as one of only 2 Nebraska students chosen as delegates for the National Youth Science Camp. Representatives were selected for their exemplary academic record, community involvement, and interest in pursuing a STEM career. Congratulations to Aditi on this national recognition! Special congratulations to Alicia Shoemaker, Elkhorn North Ridge Foreign Language teacher, who was named the Central States Regional Foreign Language Teacher of the Year! Mrs. Shoemaker now joins 4 others vying for national recognition as awarded by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages. Lastly, Sagewood and Woodbrook elementaries, Elkhorn Grandview and Elkhorn North Ridge middle schools, and Elkhorn North High School were the lucky recipients of school board visits on March 15th. Treated with student and administrator-led tours, the Board enjoyed witnessing education in action. From pottery classes to civics debates and from welding to rhythmic singing, the students were seen cultivating skills that will last them a lifetime. Once again, the board was impressed with the dedication and professionalism of the teachers and staff that create this educational environment every day. Thank you!

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for the Monday, March 13, 2023 Regular Monthly Meeting, approval of April bills for payment, and exchange students for the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes, N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the resignations of McKenna Becker, Annette Coon, Cassandra Craig, Eric Daigle, Katie Doherty-Peterson, Shaylen Ferguson, Janice Fitch, Tracey Grisham, Barbara Hahn, Christine Kluender, Jennifer McDonald, Megan McCourt, Sarah Meier, Cara Mullins, Chelsea Potter, Laurie Rabiola, Nicole Rowe, Jessica Sledge, Ashley Stevens, Haley Storm, Corissa DeArmond, Rebecca McClanathan, Billie Stabenow and Carrie Weis at the end of the 2022-23 contract year. Additionally, approve the release of contract for Jace Pittman effective May 1, 2023.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, M. Wortman – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the resignation and release of contract of Jamie Davis effective March 7, 2023.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the appointment of teachers: Kate Doyle, Abigail Enholm, Jacey Hammer, Angela Hansen, Joshua Harris, Kristine Heilman, Casey Hupp, Hallie Kinney, Alexis Miers, Oscar Miranda, Kassidi Mongar, Jake Nannen, Madison Nelson, Karen Newton, Debra Quinn, Rena Riemann, Makenna Rowe, Alyssa Verros, Dennis DeLong, and Kamden Zeller for the 2023-24 school year.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by J. Shatel to approve revisions to Policy 503.01 – Compulsory Attendance, Administrative Rules and Procedures to Implement Policy 505.04 – Fundraising, Policy 402.13 – Employee Use of Technology, Policy 405 – Employee Conduct and Appearance, Policy 606.02 – Objections to Instructional Materials, and Policy 507.10 – Student Wellness. Additionally, remove Policy 502.12 – Learning Community Open Enrollment Program.

VOTE: NO VOTE; CARRY-OVER MOTION

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the Release and Settlement Agreement with the Douglas County Treasurer regarding the 5% gross in-lieu payments that are owed to the District in the amount that was underpaid and is currently owed to the District totaling \$3,440,020.63 during 2019 through 2021. The money that should have been paid to our District during this time frame was mistakenly paid to Douglas County, the City of Omaha, and Omaha Public Schools.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by S. Ringenberg to change the last day of school to Wednesday, May 24, 2023 for students from Friday, May 26, 2023. The calendar was set to make up two days if 3 or more snow days and there was only two days missed due to inclement weather during this school year. This motion allows families and staff to plan accordingly.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by S. Ringenberg to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing litigation strategy and for the purposes of discussing personnel for the reason that it is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest and for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

The Board entered into closed session at 7:02 PM and returned to open session to adjourn the meeting at 7:40 PM. The next Regular Monthly Meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, May 8, 2023, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Additionally, a Board/Administration Work Session in scheduled for April 24, 2023 at 2:00 PM in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.