ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING FEBRUARY 13, 2023

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, J. Shatel, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. N. Rogic-Greufe was absent. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on February 10, 2023.

The meeting began with public comment being offered and reports from Student Council representatives from all three high schools in the district. During the "Good News Report," M. Wortman read that on January 25th the Elkhorn School Board had the opportunity to visit Manchester, West Dodge Station, Spring Ridge, and West Bay elementaries, Elkhorn Ridge Middle School, and the Young Adult Program. Energetic, articulate students provided tours that revealed a slice of life in the Elkhorn Public Schools. The board witnessed classrooms with students actively engaged in meaningful lessons and creative teachers providing every student with the opportunity for success. It is obviously a labor of love by everyone involved (teachers, TAs, administrators, custodians, and food service workers) to create such a positive learning environment. It is much appreciated. Next, the ESHS Unified Basketball team was recognized for taking home the gold at the Unified Champion Schools Basketball Showcase, where every single team player scored a basket and showed amazing sportsmanship. Congratulations to all players and coaches! Additionally, EPS middle school students Srijan Tripathi and Parth Rai were recognized for recently being named the winners of the 2022 Congressional App Challenge. The app they created together was built to be a tool to check vocabulary words and study for spelling tests. Srijan and Parth will also head to Washington D.C. this summer to represent our congressional district as the winners in this challenge. Congratulations Parth and Srijan on this award! Lastly, EVVMS, EGMS, and EMS students recently participated in the 3M Math Counts Competition, with all three schools placing in the top 5 for team awards. Jay Athipatla was celebrated for taking 1st place and Noelle Dutoit placed 2nd in the individual competition. Congratulations to all students who participated and thank you for representing EPS!

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for the Monday, January 9, 2023 Regular Monthly Meeting, and approval of February bills for payment.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the resignation of Jayne Cain, Laura Colvin, Elizabeth Fletcher, Morgan Johnson, Cherrie Kerr, Dakota Mathew, Mitchell Mentzer, Linda Milliken, Peg Pearson, Lindsay Scott, Julie Semin, Kelley Sullivan, Paige Weber, Ally Beck, Lauren Arbuckle, Cydney Parsons, and Jace Pittman at the end of the 2022-23 contract year. Additionally, to approve the release of contract for Michaela Gallo effective immediately.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of teachers Lorrin Adams, David Baker, Jennifer Brunning, Tracie Burton, Hannah Cushing, Jon Critser, Brianna Deines, Amanda DiMauro, Gabrielle Goeden, Vanessa Bos, Michael Hale, Kalyn Kathol, Candace Lee, Elizabeth Loghry, Blake Neumann, Andrew Norris, Jesse O'Dell, Lincoln Parks, Thomas Petersen, Avery Streeter, Karlee Abels, Sydney Dyer, Alexis Harbin, Cameran Jensen, Sara Kmiecik, Maci Schott, Brooke Heyne, Brooke Jack, and Jessica Smith for the 2023-24 school year. Additionally, to approve the contract amendment of Emily Woodson to from .5 FTE to .6 FTE. Lastly, to approve the appointments of Brian Kempf as Director of School Safety and Joy Fuller as Fire Ridge Principal.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – abstain; J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by R. Vokt move to accept the resignation for Michael Tomjack, Steve Patras, Bob Preissler, Lance Greteman, and Deb Madden effective the end of the 2022-23 school year and approve the Early Retirement Incentive Program as requested.

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to authorize the administration to negotiate and purchase portable classrooms in an amount not to exceed \$475,000.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the proposal with Fruhauf Uniforms in the amount of \$118,036.38 from the depreciation account for new band uniforms at Elkhorn South High School.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:10 PM. The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, March 13, 2023, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.