## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING JANUARY 9, 2023

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on January 6, 2023.

The meeting began with public comment and reports from Student Council representatives from all three high schools in the district. During the "Good News Report," S. Ringenberg recognized the following EPS students participated in an ACT exam administered in the 2022 calendar year and received a perfect 36 score: Charlie Berryman; Louis Giacalone, Leo Pechous, Safal Sapkota, Mason Shields, and Adam Svoboda. Congratulations to all on this academic achievement! Additionally, EGMS students recently hosted a candy sale raising \$1130 to donate to Make-A-Wish. Way to go students and thanks for your dedication to bettering our community! Lastly, January is National Mentoring Month - special thank you to the over 90 current EPS TeamMates Mentors for volunteering your time to positively impact our students!

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, December 5, 2022 and approval of January bills for payment.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; M. Wortman - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes

The annual public policy hearing was convened at 6:40 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. This annual hearing is to allow public comment on any district policy and to meet specific annual requirements prior to the re-adoption of the district policies including Policy 504.10 – Student Fees and 1005.04 – Parental Involvement in Schools. The hearing was adjourned at 6:42 PM and the Board reconvened to the regular meeting.

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe that the Superintendent be appointed temporary chair of the Board of Education for the purpose of electing officers for the 2023 year.

VOTE: M. Wortman - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to organize the officers of the Board of Education for 2023 as follows:

President Board Member
Secretary Board Member
Treasurer Board Member
Acting Secretary Superintendent

and that all checks and warrants be signed by the President and Secretary, or Treasurer as a substitute.

VOTE: M. Wortman - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to elect Amy Parks as President, Renee Vokt as Secretary, and Nancy Rogic-Greufe as Treasurer for 2023 and move Amy Parks back to Chair of the Board of Education.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by J. Shatel to readopt all Board policies, rules, and regulations as required by State law.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by R. Vokt to designate Pinnacle Bank and American National Bank as the District's primary depositories for 2023, and BOK Financial as the bond fund depository. The Board President and Secretary shall be the authorized signers for all checks drawn on District accounts. The Treasurer

shall be an authorized signer in absence of the President or Secretary. Authorization is also given for the district to use other institutions for investment purposes as needs arise. The Superintendent and Associate Superintendent are authorized as agents of the District to establish accounts as necessary for investment purposes. Within this resolution, President A. Parks and Secretary R. Vokt are authorized to execute all necessary documents with Pinnacle Bank to establish a \$4,000,000 line of credit. Also, CFO H. Shepard is approved as the authorized person to request advances under the terms of the line of credit. Authorization is granted for district issued credit cards in the names of the Superintendent, Ex. Director of Business Services, and from time to time on a limited basis other such staff as deemed necessary and appropriate by the Superintendent and in compliance with State statute and board policy.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to accept the resignation of teachers Sandra Armstrong, Michael Bressler, Elizabeth Collingsworth, Peter Cosimi, Nancy Niemann, Eula Roth, Mandala Goecke, Emily Springer, and Deb Knutson effective at the end of the 2022-2023 contract year. Additionally, move to approve the request for release of contract for Jalee Johnson effective immediately.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the appointment of teachers Nicholas Bratt, Hunter Grantham, Abigail Kryzsko, Taylor Mulligan, Nicholas Thompson, Amy Vecchio, Emma Walling, and Tanya Partridge for the 2023-24 school year. Additionally approve the appointment of Ashley Stevens and McKenna Becker for the second semester of the 2022-23 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt – yes; M. Wortman – yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the 2024-25 Academic Calendar as presented by the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the requests for curriculum additions and revisions and extra-duty positions as recommended by the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee and the administration at a projected annual cost of \$28,000 and \$180,600 in one-time cost. Additionally, move to approve the additional graduation requirement beginning for the graduating class of 2026-27 in the area of computer science and technology as required by LB 1112 consequently impacting the Rules and Procedures of Policy 611.06 – Graduation Requirements.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes

A report on Tax Exempt Finance Compliance and a Policy Committee meeting report were given to the Board of Education.

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by S. Ringenberg to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing litigation strategy.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; M. Wortman - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

The Board entered into Closed Session at 7:07 PM and returned to open session at 7:40 PM to adjourn the meeting. The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, February 13, 2023, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.