ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING MARCH 7, 2022

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, and J. Shatel. R. Vokt was absent. President Amy Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the wall of the Board Room. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on February 23, 2022.

The meeting began with Student Council reports from each high school and citizen comment. Public comment was heard. For the "Good News Report" C. Burney recognized the following EPS students were among 15,000 students nationwide named as finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program: Julia Edwards, Zachary Heidenreich, Lindsey Kenkel, Alexa Knott, Madeline Luth, Elise Madden, Mia Mellican, Jake Rance, Joseph Seible, and Linda Xu. Congratulations to all on this academic achievement! After winning the EPS Spelling Bee, Ananya Prassanna, a 5th grader at West Bay Elementary, went on to compete at the Omaha Sports Commission Regional Spelling Bee, winning first place and earning a spot at the National Scripps Spelling Bee. Congratulations to Ananya, and good luck at the national competition! Additionally, the Elkhorn South Concert Choir was one of 8 ensembles recently selected to perform in the Capitol Rotunda to advocate for music education and celebrate "Music in our Schools" month. Congratulations to all and good luck at your March 23 performance!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, February 14, 2022 and approval of March bills for payment.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by C. Burney to approve the resignations of Jill Annis, Erin Gangwish, Matt McMurtry, Jenny Oligmueller, Devon Arbogast, Megan Aultz, Eric Burenheide, Molly Carlson, Anna Fannon, Christa Fisher, Jesse Gardner, Melissa Harrell, Holly Hesse, Bailey Johnson, Madison Jones, Hannah Knight, Trisha Kuiper, Rebekka Kucera, Rachel Mimick. Paige Ozmun, Ashley Willson, and Angela Wright at the end of the 2021-22 school year and also grant extended leave per the Negotiation Agreeement for Julia Semin for the 2022-23 school year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the appointments of Shelbi Buhr, Robert Copland, Abby Haber, Emily Parker, Elizabeth Preister, Madelyn Royal, Nate Schimonitz, Amanda Anderson, Laura Anderson, Meghan Arena, Abigail Bruck, Alex De La Cruz, Jamie Fisher, Elizabeth Fritton, Mandala Goecke, Amy Grieb, Lauren Harris, Jordan Hobza, Madeline Horn, Jamie Janousek, Bridget Leutzinger, Marti McQueen, Sean Murphy, Christina Novotny, Jennifer Parker, Kristen Raabe, Stephanie Schmitt, Cheyanne Thorpe, Carolyn Van Heest, and Josie Van Houten for the 2022-23 school year and also amend the contract of Kaitlyn Weis from .5 FTE to 1.0 FTE for the 2022-23 school year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

CARRY-OVER MOTION: It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve Policies 602.04 – Emergency School Closings and 505.07 – Interscholastic Athletics as revised.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by C. Burney to approve the Building Level Instructional Budget for \$2,422,299 for the 2022-23 school year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

The annual public policy hearing in compliance with Nebraska's American Civics Education Law 79-724 was convened at 6:54 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, and J. Shatel. This annual hearing is to allow public comment on Nebraska's American Civics Education.

The Board adjourned the meeting at 6:57 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, April 11, 2022 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.