ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING FEBRUARY 14, 2022

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. President Amy Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the wall of the Board Room. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on January 19, 2022.

The meeting began with Student Council reports from each high school and citizen comment. Public comment was heard. For the "Good News Report" R. Vokt recognized the ENHS Band as one of only three groups selected to perform at the upcoming State Bandmasters Convention. Congratulations to all, thank you for representing EPS, and good luck at your March 4 performance! Additionally, 50 EPS 6th grade students recently participated in the ESU#3 Quiz Bowl Tournament, bringing home the top 3 team placements out of 24 teams! An additional 50 EPS students participated in the 7th and 8th grade Quiz Bowl competition and of the 24 teams present, 3 EPS teams placed in the top 10. Congratulations to all EPS quiz bowl participants!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, January 10, 2022, approval of February bills for payment, and approve an exchange student as presented.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the resignations of Taylor Boosalis, Chloe Healy, Lindsay Hollman, Brandi Liston, Courtney Patterson, Amanda Smith, Christina Stednitz, Leann Thompson, Melissa Romohr, Jordyn Stryker, Jennifer Bright, Bradley Henderson, Madalyn Walters, Jennifer Coltvet, and Cindy Gray at the end of the 2021-22 school year. Also, approve the release of contract for Danielle Frederick at the end of the 1st semester in the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to accept the resignation for Tamera Loftis, Julie Sorensen, Carla Farley, Nick Jarzynka, Marie Matuella, Mimi Ramsbottom, Laura Seyl, and Bob Wolf effective at the end of the 2021-22 school year and approve the Early Retirement Incentive Program as requested.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the appointments of Sara Kmiecik (CADRE), Nicole Beran, Cady Coy, Chad Crouch, Julie Dixon, Alison Dykman, Madeline Eldridge, Aaron English, Emily Foster, Mallory Fraeken, Jordan Fuglestad, Shaylie Hollst, McKenzie Hughes, Lauren Jungck, Jeff Lacey, Jesse Lichtenberg, Alexandria Lorensen, Alexis McCoy, Tiffany Nagel, Kendra Olson, Christopher Peters, Corrie Philo, Jacob Rehurek, Patrick Schilley, Jake Senff, Jenni Stover, Andrew Thompson, Delanie Tinnerstet, Matt Wachter, Elizabeth Weiss, Brittany Wolfgram, Allison Zieg, Ashley Hamilton, and Emily Woodson (.5 FTE) for the 2022-23 school year. Additionally, approve the amended contract for Tara Pugliese for the 2022-23 school year from .7 FTE to 1.0 FTE and approve the mid-year appointment of Maci Schott and Cynthia Snoderly for the second semester of the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the Negotiated Agreement with the Elkhorn Education Association as recommended by the Negotiations Committee for 2022-23 and 2023-24.

VOTE: C. Burney - abstain; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt – yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the purchase of 6000 replacement computers that will be paid directly by the Federal Communication Commission Emergency Connectivity Fund.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the purchase of six scoreboards for the main high school gyms at all three high schools using money donated by the Elkhorn Public Schools Foundation.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by C. Burney to award a contract to Workspace Flooring in the amount of \$185,325.00 for flooring at West Bay and Sagewood elementary schools.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to award a contract to Bishop Business for copier and print services in the amount of \$634,804 for a 3-year lease with a \$1 buyout in year 4.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by R. Vokt to award a contract to Mechanical Sales, Inc. in the amount of \$404,815.00 for mechanical equipment for the Skyline remodel project.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by C. Burney to designate Pinnacle Bank and American National Bank as the District's primary depositories for 2022, and BOKF as the bond fund depository.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve Policies 602.04 – Emergency School Closings and 505.07 – Interscholastic Athletics as revised.

NO VOTE: Carry-over Motion

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to adopt the calendars for the 2022-23 and 2023-24 school years as recommended by the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:19 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, March 7, 2022 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.