ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING NOVEMBER 8, 2021

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the north wall of the Teacher Training Conference Center. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on October 20, 2021.

The meeting began with Student Council reports from each high school and citizen comment. Public comment was heard. For the "Good News Report" A. Parks recognized the following EPS students who were recently named 2021-2022 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists: Julia Edwards, Zachary Heidenreich, Lindsey Kenkel, Alexa Knott, Madeline Luth, Elise Madden, Mia Mellican, Jake Rance, Joseph Seibel, Linda Zu. Congratulations to these students on this academic achievement! Student selections for the Nebraska All-State were recently announced, naming numerous EPS students to both the All-State Choir and the All-State Band/Orchestra. Congratulations to the 34 EPS students recognized as All-State Choir members and the 17 EPS students named All-State Band/Orchestra members! Additionally, all EPS elementary and middle schools recently held their individual building spelling bees to determine who would represent their building in the District Bee. Congratulations to the students who have earned this honor, and good luck in the District Bee, scheduled for Thursday, December 2!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, October 11, 2021, and approval of November bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt- yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the release of contract for Megan Geiger at the end of the 2021-22 first semester and the resignation of Justin Klute at the end of the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by C. Burney to approve the early graduation requests as recommended by the high school principals from Elkhorn South and Elkhorn High School.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the selection of approximately 13.9 acres of real property generally located west of 192nd and Ida Street in Douglas County, Nebraska and entering into a Property Purchase and Sale Agreement for the purchase of such site from the sellers, and that the Board approves the agreement and hereby approves and adopts the resolution presented and on file.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by R. Vokt to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing personnel for the reason that it is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest and for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual.

VOTE: J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt- yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes

The Board entered into Closed Session at 6:56 PM and returned to Open Session to adjourn the meeting at 7:10 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, December 13, 2021 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Additionally, the annual fall Board/Administrator Workshop is scheduled for November 22, 2021, at 2:00 PM in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.