ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING JULY 19, 2021

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. N. Rogic-Greufe absent. President Amy Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the wall of the Board Room. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on June 23, 2021.

For the "Good News Report" A. Parks recognized the following groups, individuals, and schools.

Drew Christo, representing EHS Baseball, and Gabe Hinrichs, representing ESHS Boys Track and Field, were recently named Gatorade Nebraska Players of the Year! Additionally, Drew Christo earned the title of World-Herald Boy Athlete of the Year, a first-time honor for Elkhorn High School. Congratulations to Drew and Gabe on these awards!

Also, the NSAA Cup Standings were recently announced, naming all 3 EPS high schools in the Top 10 in All School rankings for their respective classes. Congratulations to the students and coaches on these awards, and thank you for representing EPS!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, June 14, 2021, approval of July bills for payment as presented.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the release of contract for Erika Hiemstra for the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt – yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the appointment of Jaymie Argotsinger, Leif Albertson, and Stephanie Collins for the 2021-22 school year. Also, approve the contract amendment for Amy Wemhoff from .5 FTE to 1.0 FTE for the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by C. Burney to approve the Interlocal Agreement with the GOALS Center for the purpose of improving chronic absenteeism in Douglas and Sarpy counties.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by J. Shatel to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing personnel for the reason that it is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest and for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes

The Board entered closed session at 7:07 PM and returned to open session to adjourn the meeting at 7:50 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, August 16, 2021 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.