ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING MAY 10, 2021

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. President Amy Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the wall of the Board Room. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on April 21, 2021.

For the "Good News Report" A. Parks recognized the following groups, individuals, and schools.

ESHS was recently named a Unified Champion Banner School by Special Olympics. This honor is representative of the culture of inclusivity that has been created at ESHS, and all students and staff should be proud of the accomplishment. Congratulations and thank you to all ESHS students and staff for setting a high standard to ensure that all feel welcome and involved!

For the 4th consecutive year, EPS has been named a Best Community for Music Education by NAMM. Special thank you to all music department staff for making EPS an excellent place for music education!

Congratulations to the 62 EPS high school students who were named All State musicians! Special recognition also goes to Ryan Akey, Emily Arnold, Carson Clarys, Ben Hastreiter, Marissa Henthorn, Hallie Horner, Avery Sufficool and Marvin Larweh who earned the title for all 4 years of their high school careers.

Forty 4th and 5th grade students at West Bay Elementary recently submitted projects to the Audubon Society Art Contest, with four students earning "Best in Show" placements! Congratulations to students Willa Stater, Wyatt Newmyer, Caitlyn Swafford, Taj Somasegaran and art teacher Joel Scholten on this honor!

Congratulations to the students and staff of the ESHS Music Program for being awarded the Nebraska Music Education Association's "Exemplary Program" award for 2021!

Lastly, in honor of Teacher Appreciation Week, we honor our teachers for their amazing work with our students. As we approach the end of this school year, our teachers rose to the challenges of this pandemic and we are grateful. Thank you, Elkhorn educators!

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, April 12, 2021, approval of minutes for Monday, April 26, 2021, approval of May bills for payment, and approve exchange students as recommended.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the resignations of Beth Books, Lindsay Connely, Gwendolyn Dahl, Rachel Emary, Angela Frey, Kimberly Jones, Jessica Kempke, Alexandra Knapp, Tim Lucks, Avery Misfeldt, Melissa Moser, Kristen Muldoon, Jessica Piotrowski, Kristi Sexton, Margaret Snyder, Morgan Styskal, and Shannen Summers at the end of the 2020-21 school year.

VOTE: J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointments of Camryn Amsberry, Kristin Banzhaf, Molly Carlson, Nicole Dice, Molly Erickson, Shannon Hailer, Mitchell Hallingan, Brittany Haupt, Madison Jones, Daniel Lisch, Makenna Lofgren, Cassie Manhart, Marcy Noodell, Kelsey Orr-Stevinson, Allison Ramirez, Brittany Thompson, and Laura Yeager for the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to sunset the current COVID Remote Learning Accommodation Plan for the 2021-22 school year. Homebound instruction processes will be used for students who are unable to return to school due to documented medical needs. Additionally, the Board Civics and Curriculum Committee recommends continuation of one additional FTE for the 2021-22 school year to address pandemic related needs such as contact tracing and increased needs for Homebound instruction.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt, seconded by J. Shatel to approve the bid from Prairie Construction in the amount of \$1,254,500 for capital improvements at Westridge Elementary, Elkhorn Middle School, and Elkhorn High School, which includes a base bid of \$1,230,000 and Alternate #1 of \$8,500 of Westridge kitchen paint and Alternate #2 of \$16,000 for cabinet unit heaters at Westridge.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the proposed wage or salary and benefit packages for all support staff (excluding District Maintenance) for the 2021-22 school year as recommended by the Negotiations Committee.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg, seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the proposed Superintendent Contract with Superintendent Bary Habrock effective July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2024 as recommended by the Negotiations Committee.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by J. Shatel to recognize the Elkhorn Education Association as the bargaining agent for 2022-23 school year for all positions within the current Negotiated Agreement.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt, seconded by J. Shatel to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of possible litigation and to discuss collective bargaining strategy.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

The Board entered closed session at 7:17 PM and return to open session to adjourn the meeting at 7:59 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, June 14, 2021 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.