ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 12, 2021

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg (late), N. Rogic-Greufe, and J. Shatel. R. Vokt was absent. President Amy Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the wall of the Board Room. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on March 17, 2021.

For the "Good News Report" A. Parks recognized the following groups and individuals for earning championship titles in the winter sports and activities season: Elkhorn North Girls Basketball, Class B State Champions; Alex Hagestad, member of the ENHS Speech Team, State Champion Persuasive Speaking; Ryan Mayo – member of the Stormin' Antlers swim team, State Champion 100 Yard Butterfly; Ryan Mayo, Greg Wehbe, Jacob Horner, Austin Smith –members of the Stormin' Antlers Swim Team, State Champion 400 Yard Freestyle Relay; Kayli Pham, member of the EHS Speech Team, State Champion in Informative Speaking. Congratulations to all students and coaches involved in earning these awards! Also, congratulations to EVVMS 6th grader Jay Athipatla for earning 4th place in the recent Midwest Spelling Bee! Jay qualified for the regional event by winning the EPS District Spelling Bee in November, 2020. In addition, the ERMS 8th grade 3B vocal choir was recently selected as one of eight groups to perform at the State Capitol as part of the "Music in Our Schools" celebration. Congratulations students and staff on this accomplishment and thank you for representing EPS! Lastly, congratulations to Mark Kalvoda, Elkhorn South High School principal, on being named the Region II High School Principal of the Year!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, March 8, 2021 and approval of April bills for payment.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by C. Burney to approve the resignations of Libby Dreier, Molly Edick, Britnee Gutgsell, Kim Johnson, Josh Lynch, Megan McBride, Anne Mroczek, and Pat Watts at the end of the 2020-21 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the appointments of Alexis Beberniss, Lindsey Bellinger, Emily Bruck, Sidra Fahad, Anna Fannon, Hailli Fetters, Julie Gorup, Calle Guthard, Grant Hall, Kelsey Hillman, Layne Johnson, Brandi Liston, Kirsten Little, Samantha Marousek, Laurie Rabiola, Nicole Rowe, Matthew Samuels, Rebecca Stichler, Kathryn Thelen, Maggie Toczek, Molly Burmester, Lindsay Hemmingsen, Sara Klein, and Kaitlyn Weis for the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the proposed 2023-24 calendar as recommended by the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee.

VOTE: J. Shatel - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the proposed curriculum renewal for K-12 mathematics, including estimated materials costs of \$625,000 at the elementary level, \$308,000 at the middle school level, and \$550,000 at the high school level. The vendors include Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Savvas, McGraw Hill, and Bedford Publishing.

VOTE: J. Shatel - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, S. Ringenberg – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by C. Burney to approve the staffing of four athletic trainers and authorize the administration to enter into a partnership with Ortho Nebraska to subsidize the cost of at least \$95,000 annually and help assure program quality.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes, S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to authorize the superintendent to sign the Dedication and Exchange Agreement with Tenth Avenue Freeze Out, LLC as recommended by the Building and Grounds Committee.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes, S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the bid from Prairie Construction for the base bid and alternate #1 in the amount of \$606,000 for Central Office building capital improvements.

VOTE: J. Shatel - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes, S. Ringenberg - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve a contract with Floors, Inc. in the amount of \$180,515 for carpet projects at Spring Ridge and West Dodge Station Elementary Schools.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes, S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the agreement with OneNeck IT Solutions in the amount of \$181,726.13 for switches and wireless network equipment.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes, S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the agreement with TR Construction in the amount of \$561,761.00 for concrete parking lot replacements at Spring Ridge Elementary and Elkhorn Ridge Middle School.

VOTE: J. Shatel - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, S. Ringenberg – yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve a contract with Push Pedal Pull in the amount of \$243,292.26 for weight room equipment, fitness equipment, and flooring for Elkhorn High School.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by C. Burney to approve a contract with MeTeor Education in the amount of \$1,206,555.78 for furniture for Elkhorn North Ridge Middle School.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, S. Ringenberg – yes; J. Shatel – yes; C. Burney – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:05 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, May 10, 2021 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Also, a Board/Administrator Workshop is scheduled for Monday, April 26, 2021 at 2:00 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.