ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING JANUARY 11, 2021

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. Secretary Amy Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the wall of the Board Room. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on December 23, 2020.

For the "Good News Report" A. Parks recognized Elijah Lubberstedt, representing Elkhorn South High School, for earning a perfect 36 score on an ACT administered in 2020. Also, 38 EPS high school students were recently recognized as NSAA Academic All-State Award winners! These students were nominated by their respective high school for their significant contribution to their activity or organization and their strong academic performance in all curricular subjects.

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, December 14, 2020, and approval of January bills for payment.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

The annual public policy hearing was convened at 6:43 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. This annual hearing is to allow public comment on any district policy and to meet specific annual requirements prior to the re-adoption of the district policies including Policy 504.10 – Student Fees and 1005.04 – Parental Involvement in Schools. There was no public comment and the hearing adjourned at 6:45 PM.

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt that the Superintendent be appointed temporary chair of the Board of Education for the purpose of electing officers for the 2021 year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to organize the officers of the Board of Education for 2021 as follows:

President Board Member
Secretary Board Member
Treasurer Board Member
Acting Secretary Superintendent

and that all checks and warrants be signed by the President and Secretary, or Treasurer as a substitute.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by R. Vokt to elect Amy Parks as President, Renee Vokt as Secretary, and Chuck Burney as Treasurer for 2021 and move Amy Parks back to Chair of the Board of Education meeting.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to readopt all Board policies, rules, and regulations as required by State law.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to designate Pinnacle Bank and American National Bank as the District's primary depositories for 2021, and BOK Financial as the bond fund depository. The Board President and Secretary shall be the authorized signers for all checks drawn on District accounts. The Treasurer shall be an authorized signer in absence of the President or Secretary. Authorization is also given for the district to use other institutions for investment purposes as needs arise. The Superintendent and Associate Superintendent

are authorized as agents of the District to establish accounts as necessary for investment purposes. Within this resolution, President A. Parks and Secretary R. Vokt are authorized to execute all necessary documents with Pinnacle Bank to establish a \$4,000,000 line of credit. Also, CFO P. Roth is approved as the authorized person to request advances under the terms of the line of credit. Authorization is granted for district issued credit cards in the names of the Superintendent, Ex. Director of Business Services, and from time to time on a limited basis other such staff as deemed necessary and appropriate by the Superintendent and in compliance with State statute and board policy.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to accept the resignations of teachers Megan Miller, Renae Wilkening, and Daleen Niebaum effective at the end of the 2020-2021 contract year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by C. Burney to approve the appointment of Brittany Uhing as a teacher for the 2021-22 school year and to amend the contract of Heather Artz from .5 Full-time Equivalency (FTE) to 1.0 for the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the purchase of student laptops at a cost of \$528,945 from Computer Discount Warehouse.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:03 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, February 8, 2021 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.