## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING February 10, 2020

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco recognized 25 Elkhorn South art students who recently showed off their work at the 2019-2020 statewide Scholastic Art Show, bringing home 51 awards! Of note, two complete art portfolios produced by senior Malek Rasmussen earned top honors, and sophomore Lindsey Johnson earned the American Visions Award (the top Best in Show award) for her work. This is the 3<sup>rd</sup> year that Elkhorn South has taken home the top prize out of the 4 years ESHS students have participated. Additionally, students from all EPS middle schools recently participated in the 3M Math Counts contest against 25 other Metro-area schools, with several teams and individuals bringing home Top 3 awards including: Mason Evans, 8<sup>th</sup> Grade, ERMS – 1<sup>st</sup> Place; Tyler Hemreck, 8<sup>th</sup> Grade, EVVMS – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place; Team of Zachary Flynn, Mason Evans, Rachel Wu, and Luke Zhu, 1<sup>st</sup> Place; Team of Garrett Moore, Toby Tsai, Evan Choi and Elijah Fox, ERMS, 3<sup>rd</sup> Place. Congratulations to all!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, January 13, 2020 and approval of February bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes, R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Parks to approve the resignations of Ryan Boege, Caleb Kluender, Rachel Kobza, Nancy Nielsen-Young, Mary (Katherine) Orf, Annie Sawatzky, Susan Wortman, Schylir Rowen, Theresa Mourey, and Chelsea Zimmerer at the end of the 2019-20 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by A. Clark to accept the resignations for Duane Glover, Steve Gorsett, Terry Graver, Sharon Knudsen, Jerilyn Lampert, and Janette Rossell effective at the end of the 2019-20 school year and approve the Early Retirement Incentive Program request.

VOTE: C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of Heather Artz, Emily Burd, Rachel Emary, Jenna Foiles, Jenna Hampton, Jennifer Klute, Justin Klute, Madeline Lorenzen, Kali McKenzie, Marissa O'Grady, Jonathan Olson, Jorey Prange, Stephanie Rabiola, Mason Rogers, Sarah Schoenrock, Jennifer Stec, Amanda Vogt, Rachel Waddington, Kali McKenzie, Megan Scobie, Amy Wynn, and Sherry Wilson for the 2020-21 school year. Additionally, approve the amended contracts for Kristi Backora-Gross, Laura Thoreen, Joel Fickel, Chloe Kelly, Briana Holthaus, and Erin Stover for the 2020-21 school year. Lastly, approve a Probationary Administrator Contract for Brittany Sidders.

VOTE: J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by A. Parks to approve the Interlocal Cooperative Agreement with Douglas County and SID 582 for a traffic signal at 180<sup>th</sup> and Grand Avenue. The District agrees to pay one-third of the cost of the project at an estimated cost of \$40,000. The motion authorizes the Superintendent to sign the agreement on behalf of the District.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded A. Parks to approve the proposal submitted by Sodexo for food management services beginning July 1, 2020 as recommended by the Finance Committee.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes

The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, March 9, 2020 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of

the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.