ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING January 13, 2020

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco recognized the following EPS high school students for participating in an ACT exam administered in 2019 and receiving a perfect score of 36: Daniel Hudson, Eugene Kim, Derek Madden, Josh Oarhe, Julia Patterson, and Ellie Zentner. Congratulations to all on this incredible academic achievement! Additionally, one year after the official launch, TeamMates of Elkhorn has 85 student/mentor matches. In honor of January being National Mentoring Month, a special thank you goes out to all mentors who have committed to being there for our students and for their continued support of our program! Lastly, 19 EPS 8th grade students were among only 130 students statewide chosen to represent Elkhorn as members of the 2020 Nebraska State Bandmasters Association All-State Band which will perform on Saturday, January 18 in Kearney. Congratulations to all on this honor, thank you for representing EPS, and good luck at your upcoming performance!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, December 9, 2019 and approval of January bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes, R. Vokt - yes

The annual public policy hearing was convened at 6:37 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. This annual hearing is to allow public comment on any district policy and to meet specific annual requirements prior to the re-adoption of the district policies including Policy 504.10 – Student Fees and 1005.04 – Parental Involvement in Schools. There was no public comment and the hearing adjourned at 6:39 PM.

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to organize the officers of the Board of Education for 2020 as follows:

President Board Member
Secretary Board Member
Treasurer Board Member
Acting Secretary Superintendent

and that all checks and warrants be signed by the President and Secretary, or Treasurer as a substitute.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to elect John Marasco as President, Amy Parks as Secretary, and Aaron Clark as Treasurer for 2020.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by A. Parks to readopt all board policies, rules, and regulations as required by State law.

VOTE: C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to designate Pinnacle Bank and American National Bank as the District's primary depositories for 2020, and First National Bank Fremont as the bond fund depository. The Board President and Secretary shall be the authorized signers for all checks drawn on District accounts. The Treasurer shall be an authorized signer in the absence of the President or Treasurer. Authorization is also given for the district to use other institutions for investment purposes as needs arise. The Superintendent and Associate Superintendent are authorized as agents of the District to establish accounts as necessary for investment purposes. Within this resolution, President J. Marasco and Secretary A. Parks are authorized to execute all necessary documents with Pinnacle Bank to establish a \$4,000,000 line of credit. Also, CFO P. Roth is approved as the authorized person to request advances under the terms of the line of credit. Authorization is granted for

district issued credit cards in the names of the Superintendent, Ex. Director of Business Services, and from time to time on a limited basis other such staff as deemed necessary and appropriate by the Superintendent and in compliance with State statute and board policy.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; C. Burney – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by R. Vokt to accept the resignation of teachers Tom Baumert, Molly Hauptman, Elizabeth Herber, Mallory Dorn, and Brooke Svec effective at the end of the 2019-2020 contract year.

VOTE: J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes

It was moved by A. Parks and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of Haley Storm effective for the second semester of the 2019-20 school year and the appointment of Amy Glass, Brianna Nelson, and Alexandra Knapp for 2020-21. Additionally, the appointments of CADRE Teachers in collaboration with the University of Nebraska at Omaha: Emma Shatluck, Madison Kangior, Jaden Thiem, and Jennifer Bright for 2020-21. Also, approving the appointment of Mark Schroeder as Principal of Elkhorn High School for 2020-21.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes

The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, February 10, 2020 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.