ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING December 11, 2017

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and S. Zingler. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco acknowledged Elkhorn High's 2016-2017 yearbook "I'm In" and Elkhorn South's 2016-2017 yearbook "Dare to Be" were among eight schools in the state to receive the Nebraska High School Press Association's *Cornhusker* award. Yearbooks are critiqued by out-of-state judges on national standards of journalism in a variety of areas from photography to writing, to layout and design and awards are given based on those critiques. Congratulations to all whose efforts concluded in earning this honor for both schools! In addition, Elkhorn High School student Samuel Curry was one of 140 students honored during the Nebraska Department of Education Commissioner's Recognition for earning an award at the 2017 National DECA Convention. Also, 2013 EHS graduate and Nebraska Husker linebacker Chris Weber was recently named one of 13 national finalists for the William V. Campbell scholarship. As a finalist, Weber will receive an \$18,000 postgraduate scholarship. Chris joins Spencer Long as Elkhorn graduates who were named a finalist for this prestigious award. Lastly, for the sixth consecutive year, the Elkhorn Public Schools District was placed on the College Board's AP District Honor Roll. Criteria to be placed on the Honor Roll include increasing the number of students participating in AP while also increasing or maintaining the percentage of students earning AP Exam scores of 3 or higher. This honor is reflective of the culture our staff has worked to create to constantly raise the academic bar for all students and we extend our congratulations to all.

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, November 13, 2017, approval of minutes for Monday, November 27, 2017, and approval of December bills for payment.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt- yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of Jennifer Ford effective for the second semester of the 2017-18 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the new personnel for the 2018-19 school year in response to student enrollment growth as presented and recommended by the administration and Curriculum and Americanism Committee at an estimated cost of \$3,596,382.

VOTE: S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Parks to approve the Negotiated Agreement as recommended Negotiations Committee that includes a 2.25% package increase for each of the next two contract years.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the attendance boundaries for Skyline and Blue Sage Elementary Schools as recommended by the administration. The 2018-19 neighborhood assignment plan is per the following: Skyline Elementary – Chapel Hill, Quail Ridge, Ranch View Estates, Riverside Hills, Rogers Ridge, Skyline Oaks, Skyline Ranches, Skyline Woods, The Prairies; Blue Sage Elementary – Blue Sage Creek, Grandview Ridge, Rural- South, South Pointe Estates, Terra Linda, The Farm, Trail Ridge Ranches, Windgate, The Sanctuary, Westbury Creek, Westbury Farms. Current Skyline 4th grade students, who reside in neighborhoods impacted by this motion for 2018-19, will be given a choice to remain at Skyline through the end of the 2018-19 school year. This decision will need to be made prior to February 15th by communicating with the principal in writing. Additionally, a middle school boundary change is approved for all future middle school students residing south of "F" Street to attend Elkhorn Ridge Middle School. The board received a report on achievement and assessment in the district.

Board President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 7:25 pm. The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, January 8, 2017, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.