ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING July 10, 2017

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and S. Zingler. Board President J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco acknowledged that the Omaha Performing Arts recently announced the winners of the fourth annual Nebraska High School Theatre Awards program, including: Avery Kesar (EHS) - Outstanding Performance in a Supporting Actor Role; Michaela Winje (ESHS) and Will Hastreiter (EHS) were named finalists in the Broadway League's National High School Musical Theatre Award program. Several EPS middle school students were named to the 90th annual Rotary Honor Roll, including: Elkhorn Grandview Middle School - Spencer Gordman, Sean Nguyen, Quin English, Grant Eicher, Kayli Pham, Sydney Mencke, Emma Jarzynka, Joanna Revers and Ava DeLaGarza; Elkhorn Middle School -Madison Grooms, Avery Sufficool, Abbie Zymola, Parker Gamerl, Samantha Trautman, Hannah King and Ian Sexton; Elkhorn Ridge Middle School - Glenna Wyscarver, Elli Klein, Sam Devereaux, Joey Falk, Zack Axiotes, Rylee Gray and Olivia Weiss; Elkhorn Valley View Middle School - Lauren Dvorak, Anna Bazata, Anna Zingler, Kelsie Konen, Alex Stodden, Chad Preble, Brogan Posey and Charlie Hayden.

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by S. Zingler, to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, June 5, 2017, and approval of July bills for payment.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes Motion carried.

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by A. Parks, to appoint the following certificated staff for the 2017-18 school year: Keri Simonich, Kelly Ottens, Sidney Garrison as recommended by the administration.

VOTE: A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes Motion carried.

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Parks, to adopt all proposed revisions to Policy 503.02 and Policy 507.13 as recommended by the administration. (The motion and second will be held over for vote at the August 21, 2017 Regular Board Meeting.)

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by A. Parks, seconded by S. Zingler, to adopt the proposed Student Computing Device Usage Handbook as recommended by the administration.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by A. Clark, to adopt the resolution, as prepared by DA Davidson, in regards to district staff authorized to transact the day-to-day business on behalf of the district related to the accounts maintained with DA Davidson.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

The board received reports on and briefly discussed:

o District Growth, Projected Enrollment, and Housing Developments

- o Summer School Update
- o Upcoming Board Member Events

President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 7:15 pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, August 21, 2017. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office.