## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING JUNE 5, 2017

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, A. Clark, R. Vokt, C. Burney, A. Parks and S. Zingler. Board President J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco acknowledged that NSAA Cup Standings were recently released, naming both Elkhorn High School and Elkhorn South High School in the top 5 for all categories: Boys Standings: ESHS (2<sup>nd</sup>) and EHS (4<sup>th</sup>). Girls Standings: ESHS (1<sup>st</sup>) and EHS (2<sup>nd</sup>). Overall Standings: ESHS (1<sup>st</sup>) and EHS (3<sup>rd</sup>). ESHS Girls Tennis won the 2017 Class A State Championship in their first year as a Class A team. ESHS Boys Soccer won the 2017 Class B State Championship with an undefeated record. EHS Boys Golf won runner-up in the 2017 Class B State Championship. ERMS Trap Shooting Squad placed 2<sup>nd</sup>, out of 75 squads, at the Cornhusker National Shootout. Elkhorn students participated in the Power Drive State Championships, placing 1<sup>st</sup> overall in the Exhibition class and 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> overall in the Advanced class.

During Patron Comment the Board heard from Kate Hansen from the American Heart Association and former school board member Cal Bull. Ms. Hansen thanked the District for its continued support of the American Heart Association. Mr. Bull appeared before the Board to thank Mr. Baker for his service to the students and community.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Clark to approve the following Consent Agenda items: Approval of Minutes of the Monday, May 8, 2017 Regular Meeting and presentation of June bills for approval and payment.

Vote: R. Vokt – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by S. Zingler to accept the request for contract release effective June 5, 2017 from Christine Murcek, Jason Weber and James Ford as recommended by the administration.

Vote: A. Parks – yes, A. Clark – yes, J. Marasco – yes, C. Burney – yes, C. S. Zingler – yes, R. Vokt – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by A. Parks to not accept the resignation from Aleisha Thomas as recommended by the administration.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, C. Burney – yes, A. Parks – yes, S. Zingler – yes, R. Vokt – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by R. Vokt seconded by C. Burney to appoint Stacie Unrau, Ashley Ridder and Isaac Piper for the 2017-18 school year as recommended by the administration.

Vote: R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – Yes, A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by C. Burney to approve the mid-term graduation requests for EHS students Alina Dzhimieva, Oliva Lehn, Kylie Hagge, Taylor Oldham, Julia Ruthedge, Tanner Sackett and Halle Whitney; and ESHS students Gabriella Campisi, Mackenzie Fiore, Savannah Gamblin, Taylor Gilliand, Alexis Gosch, Natalie Guenther, Kailey Jackson, Sydney Jensen, Hannah Kerres, Michael Overfield, Hannah Raymond and Harrison Youngblood provided all graduation requirements are met on or prior to December 22, 2017.

Vote: A. Parks – yes, A. Clark – yes, J. Marasco – yes, C. Burney – yes, C. S. Zingler – yes, R. Vokt – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by A. Clark to set lunch and breakfast prices for the 2017-18 school year at \$2.50 for Elementary K-5 Lunch, \$3.30 for Middle School 6-8 Lunch, High School 9-12 Lunch \$3.50 and \$3.85 for adult lunch, \$1.50 for K-5 breakfast, \$1.70 for 6-8 breakfast, \$1.90 for 9-12 breakfast and \$2.05 for adult breakfast as recommended by the administration.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, C. Burney – yes, A. Parks – yes, S. Zingler – yes, R. Vokt – yes. Motion Carried.

The Board received a Preliminary 2017-18 Budget Report.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by S. Zingler to enter a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education at 7:38 pm for the purposes of discussing pending litigation.

Vote: R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – Yes, A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

The Board came out of the Closed Session at 8:12 pm.

President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 8:13 pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, July 10, 2017. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office.