ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING MARCH 13, 2017

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, A. Parks, A. Clark, R. Vokt, C. Burney and S. Zingler. Board President J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco acknowledged that the Winter Sports seasons have concluded, and all teams had great successes. Notably, the ESHS/EHS girls swimming team placed 6th and the ESHS/EHS boys swimming team placed 14th at state competitions. Also, EHS girls basketball team and ESHS boys and girls basketball teams also qualified for the state tournament. Three Elkhorn High School seniors, Jacob Carmichael, Dominic Giandinoto, and Noah Moreano were among 16,000 named as National Merit Scholarship semi-finalists. Of the semi-finalists, 90% will be named as finalists, with 7,500 earning scholarships.

The Board received reports on EHS Student Council Activities from Officer G. Petersen and ESHS Student Council Activities from C. Bopes and F. Husseini. In addition, Michael Oestmann (20224 Gateway Road, Elkhorn, Nebraska), Heather Oestmann (20224 Gateway Road, Elkhorn, Nebraska) and Toni Nichols (3817 North 206th Street) addressed the Board regarding a school calendar concern.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by A. Parks to approve the Consent Agenda.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, C. Burney – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, S. Zingler – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by A. Parks to approve the resignations of Craig Vinopal, Larry Goodenough, Sarah Hall, Nicole Pechous, Megan Hergenrader, Amy Hanson and Jenna Lempke effective May 25, 2017 with regrets and thanks for their years of service.

Vote: S. Zingler – yes, C. Burney – yes, A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by C. Burney to appoint the following certificated staff for the 2017-18 school year: Kelsi Simpson, Christopher West, Massey Ringlein, Julie Ermel, Holly Hesse, Jillian Anderson, Samantha Kalin, Jessica Ritonya, Thomas Baumert, Miranda Mull, Jesse Gardner, Mary Jantz, Michael Bressler, Scott Finn, Caleb Kluender, Elizabeth McGregor, Olivia Myers, Sara Schuelke, Christine Madsen, Kristi Backora Gross, Spencer Stednitz, Brooke Svec, Korrinda Jamieson, Theresa Crnkovich, Kimberly Barmettler and Anna Naujokaitis and amend the contract of Kimberly Boham as recommended by the administration.

Vote: R. Vokt – yes, C. Burney – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, S. Zingler – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Parks to approve amending Policies 402.09 (Credit Cards), 1007.09 (Federal Government), 402.06 (Employee Records), 502.02 (Nonresident and Homeless Student), 506.02 (Student Directory), 504.11 (Initiations,

Hazing, Secret Clubs and Outside Organizations), 507.14 (Return to Learn from Cancer), 604.07 (Title I Parental and Family Involvement-New Policy), 507.13 (Internet Safety), 507.07 (Asthma Protocol) and 202.02 (Board Member Conflict of Interest). (POLICY CHANGES HELD OVER FOR VOTE UNTIL APRIL 10, 2017)

Board President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 7:21 pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, April 10, 2017. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office.