## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING FEBRUARY 13, 2017

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Parks, A. Clark, R. Vokt, and S. Zingler. Board President J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco acknowledged that ESHS student Jacob McNeil was recently announced as one of two Nebraska high school students chosen as a delegate for the 55th annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP). Two Elkhorn Valley View Middle School (EVVMS) teachers have been selected to participate in national advanced continuing education programs. Jackie Halsey, 7<sup>th</sup> grade science, will participate in the Honeywell Educators Space Academy and Jenna Reeh, Media Specialist, will attend the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Trek Seminar. The following EVVMS students earned medals in the Scholastic State Art Show, which had over 8,300 entries: Alexa Anderson, Vince Barger, Claire Baumert, Jenna Case, Summer Hoffman, Guy Hunt, Grace Nelson, Ty Windeshausen, Ava Zehr, Anja Ziegler and Ava Zimmerman.

The Board received reports on EHS Student Council Activities from Officers T. Magers and L. Spanel, and ESHS Student Council Activities from C. Bopes and F. Husseini.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by A. Parks to approve the Consent Agenda.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by S. Zingler to accept the resignations effective May 26, 2017, or the last official work day of the 2016-17 school year, and approve the early retirement incentive requests for Barb Swarthout, Jeannete Lant, Ann Holmes, John Carda and Barb Baumert as recommended by the administration with special thanks for their service.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Parks seconded by C. Burney to accept the resignations effective May 26, 2017, or the last official work day of the 2016-17 school year for Sarah Bailey, Amanda Henry, Stephen Bischof, Julie Higgins, Shannon Helgoth, Jennifer Hoffman, Josh Snyder, Kristen Demuth, Pam Kooiker and Marissa Strickler with regrets and thanks for service.

Vote: A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, C. Burney – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Parks to appoint the following certificated staff for the 2017-18 school year; Elliot Haack, Kaisa Martz, Jed Givens, Jaclyn Norum, Lise Wagner, Jacob Barry, Jennifer Borer, Jake Kment, Benjamin Hoegh, Sarah Addink, Kendra Kortus, Erin Zabawa, Brittney Petersen, Lindsay Scott, Scott Wike, Theodore Murray, Kayli King, Kevin Gross, Jadi Miller, Brittani Harrill, Sarah Jenkins, Rachel Simmons, Katherine Ehle, Britnie Cox, Kacy Thurman, Kelly Lewis, Elizabeth Ehly and Axton Kahler as recommended by the administration.

Vote: R. Vokt – yes, C. Burney – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by A. Clark to approve the application to NDE for distribution of funds to purchase textbooks for district private school students in the amount of \$22,867.00.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Clark to approve a three year contract for the 2017-18, 2018-19 and 2019-20 school years with Chief School Bus Service, Inc. as recommended by the administration.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by A. Parks to set the 2017-18 parent-pay transportation rates at \$45.60 for one-way per month and \$80.15 for round-trip per month as recommended by the administration.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by S. Zingler to recognize the Elkhorn Education Association as the bargaining agent for the non-supervisory certificated staff for the 2018-19 school year as recommended by the administration.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

The Board received reports on and briefly discussed:

- •2016-17 Instructional Time Report
- •Discussed dates for upcoming Board events

Board President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 6.53pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, March 13, 2017. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office.