Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) recently released the names of only 16,000 semifinalists nationwide for the annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  Semifinalists must now fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level and qualify for one of the more than 7,500 scholarships worth over $30 million that will be awarded in spring 2023. Of the 16,000 semifinalists, about 90% are expected to attain Finalist standing, with more than half of those finalists expected to earn a National Merit Scholarship.

To advance to the Finalist phase, semifinalists must submit an application detailing participation in school and community activities, leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received.  The application also requires that a semifinalist have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed by a high school official, and provide a written essay.  National Merit Scholarship Finalists will be announced in February 2023, with National Merit Scholarship winners announced in April 2023.

Semi-Finalist students representing Elkhorn Public Schools include:

  • Jacob Langewisch
  • William McCarville
  • Megan Moore
  • Leo Pechous
  • Zoe Rasmussen
  • Safal Sapkota
  • Mason Shields
  • Adam Svoboda

EPS students recognized as Commended Students for the National Merit Scholarship Program include:

  • Hazel Chong
  • Louis Giacalone
  • Gabrielle Masteller
  • Ryan Mayo
  • Zane Rosenberg
  • Lauren Sieck
  • Sophia Thompson


Additional information on the National Merit Scholarship program can be found by visiting