ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING NOVEMBER 14, 2022

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, and J. Shatel. R. Vokt was absent. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on October 19, 2022.

The meeting began with public comment and reports from Student Council representatives from all three high schools in the district. During the "Good News Report," N. Rogic-Greufe recognized 44 EPS high school students were recently recognized as All-State musicians in both choral and instrumental categories. Congratulations to these students and their teachers on this accomplishment! Recently, the 2021-22 yearbooks for all three EPS high schools received Cornhusker Awards, the most prestigious award bestowed on high school yearbooks, from the NE High School Press Association (NHSPA). Congratulations to the students and staff who worked diligently to produce these award-winning publications! During their school trip to Washington DC, Kayleigh Lown and Rogan Jenkins represented EPS middle schools by placing a wreath at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Thank you to Kayleigh and Rogan for participating and representing EPS in this national ceremony. Mrs. Shoemaker, foreign language teacher at Elkhorn North Ridge Middle School, was recently named the "Outstanding Educator of the Year" by the Nebraska International Foreign Language Association. Congratulations to Mrs. Shoemaker on this recognition and thank you for your continued dedication to EPS students! Lastly, congratulations to Jon Holtz, EHS Tennis Coach, and Lance Kush, ENHS Tennis Coach, who were recently recognized as NSAA State Coaches of the Year!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, October 10, 2022, and approval of November bills for payment.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; C. Burney - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the resignation of Valerie Jensen effective at the end of the 2022-23 contract year.

VOTE: C. Burney – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by C. Burney to acknowledge receipt of the 2021-2022 annual audited financial statement as submitted by Dana F. Cole & Company.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; A. Parks – yes; C. Burney – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 6:52 PM. The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, December 5, 2022, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Additionally, the annual fall Board/Administrator Workshop is scheduled for November 21, 2022, at 2:00 PM in the Teacher Training Conference Center one building north of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.