## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING May 9, 2022

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, J. Shatel, N. Rogic-Greufe, and R. Vokt. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the north wall of the Teacher Training Conference Center. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on April 20, 2022.

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, April 11, 2022 and Monday, April 25, 2022 and approval of May bills for payment.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; C. Burney - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the resignation of Lauren Ballou, Kelli Barth, Linsey Bellinger, Matthew Breikreutz, Emily Bruck, Hollie Burson, Sherry Dill, Christin Frahm Krick, Hannah Gronemeyer, Mickalya Hegy, Cassie Manhart, Beth McGregor, Carly Meier, Blair Petersen, Taylor Petersen, David Quincy, Maci Schott, Haley Severin, Emma Shattuck, Cody Thompson at the end of the 2021-22 school year and also cancel the contract for Maddison Jones effective immediately.

VOTE: C. Burney – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; J. Shatel – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the appointments of Evan Arnold, Sarah Baker, Sierra Beacom, Jennifer Bertsch, Cortland Cassidy, Claire Chvala, Kendall Chlopek, Gemma Conde-Huertas, Robert Farber, Sam Fletcher, Brittany Hill, Jalee Johnson, Josey Johnson, Patrick Jones, Kelci Kooistra, Bobbi Lawhorn, Abbygail Lint, Rebecca McClanthan, Joan McKinley, Montessa Muñoz, Kaylee Namken, Jeremiah (Jay) Parker, Lisa Poe, Kristen Schlais, Bobby Simpson, Kirsten Suhr, and Heidi Berry, Chloe Healy, Taylor Perry, Jennifer Phelps, Jace Pittman, Candice Schneider for the 2022-23 school year.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; J. Shatel – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; C. Burney – yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by C. Burney to approve the middle school assignment of the Vistancia, Calarosa, Arcadia Ridge, and The Haven subdivisions to ENRMS due to future capacity concerns at EMS. These subdivisions will still be assigned to Arbor View Elementary and Elkhorn High School.

VOTE: J. Shatel – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; C. Burney – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the proposed curriculum renewals for K-12 science and the elementary high ability program, including estimated science materials costs of \$595,000 at the elementary level, \$315,000 at the middle school level, and \$595,000 at the high school level. Vendors include Amplify, Savvas, McGraw Hill, Cengage, and Bedford Publishing.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; C. Burney – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the addition of a district cooperative girls' wrestling team and bowling teams at each high school as recommended by the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee and the administration at a projected annual cost of \$54,660.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; C. Burney – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; J. Shatel – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the proposed wage or salary and benefit packages for all support staff (excluding District Maintenance) and administrators for the 2022-23 school year as recommended by the Negotiations Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 7:07 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, June 13, 2022 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.