ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 11, 2022

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. President Amy Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the wall of the Board Room. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on March 16, 2022.

The meeting began with Student Council reports from each high school and citizen comment. Public comment was heard. For the "Good News Report" N. Rogic-Greufe recognized Sophia Finlay, 7th grade at Elkhorn North Ridge MS, and Taem Harb, 9th grade at Elkhorn North HS, were recently named Nebraska World Language Distinguished Scholars with High Honors for their leadership in language learning, commitment to language study, appreciation for cultural diversity, and communicative competence. Notably, of the 50 scholars having earned High Honors, Sophia was the only middle school student recognized. Congratulations to Sophia and Taem on this academic achievement! Also recognized were the following groups and individuals who earned championship titles during the winter sports and activities season: Elkhorn North Girls Basketball, Class B State Champions; Tyler Japp, ENHS Wrestling, first state medalist in school history; Alex Hagestad, ENHS Speech, State Champion in Extemporaneous Speaking; Elkhorn High Cheer, State Championship in Traditional Routine; Elkhorn South Boys Basketball, District Champions. Congratulations to all students, coaches, and sponsors involved in earning these awards!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, March 7, 2022 and approval of April bills for payment.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes, R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the resignation of Alexis Beberniss, Erica Bradford, Molly D'Agosta, Claire Ellerbee, Sydney Graver, Heidi Hammond, Jenna Hampton, Julie Hartman, Rachel Johnson, Mackenzie Lammel, Jonathan Liakos, Olivia Myers, Marissa O'Grady, Michael Pensick, Amie Pleskac, Danielle Podany, Staci Raddish, Lisa Rehtmeyer, Nolan Reilly, Amanda Sauer, Cassandra Schroeder, Kaitlin Trout, Amy Wynn, Andrea (Dawn) Zumbrennen, Christine Crisman-Maser, Abbie Lamb, and Terese Vogel at the end of the 2021-22 school year and also grant release of contract for Nicolette Niederklein effective immediately given the out of state relocation of her family.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointments of Katie Apland, April Baker-Hage, Emily Benjamin, Jordan Burns, Taylor Burrow, Alyssa Chitwood, Zoe Conley, Lisa Devine, Jane Elam, Maggie Fillipi, Anna Gottschalk, Justin Hayes, Cara Kitt, Ally Lunzmann, Mitchell Mentzer, Cydney Parsons, Becky Pfeifer, Isabel Roberts, Shannon Sortino, Meggie Steiner, Jennifer Stevens, April Sullivan, Kristina Tolen, Josh West, Dillan Wolfgram, Angela Zimmerman, Megan Albers, Michael Collicott, Christopher Kurtt, Jonathan Lee, Avery Sears, Drew Spooner, Jennifer Zymola, Adam Thomsen, Madison Hayes, Rileigh Heller, Michaela Lortz, Brooke Rosener, Michaela Winje, and Madison Young for the 2022-23 school year and also amend the contracts of Jadi Miller and Amber Scott for the 2022-23 school year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by R. Vokt to change the last day of school to Tuesday, May 24, 2022 for students from Thursday, May 26, 2022. The calendar was set to make up two days if 3 or more snow days and there was only one day missed due to inclement weather during this school year. This motion allows families and staff to plan accordingly.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:08 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, May 9, 2022 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Also, a Board/Administrator Workshop is scheduled for Monday, April 25, 2022 at 2:00 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.