ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING JANUARY 10, 2022

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. President Amy Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the wall of the Board Room. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on December 22, 2021.

The meeting began with Student Council reports from each high school and citizen comment. Public comment was heard. For the "Good News Report" J. Shatel recognized Ethan Edwards, ENHS Senior, was selected as one of only 315 students nationwide to march with the Bands of America Honor Band in the 2022 Tournament of Roses Parade. Congratulations Ethan and thank you for representing EPS on this national platform! Additionally, the following EPS students participated in an ACT exam administered in the 2021 calendar year and received a perfect 36 score: Elise Madden, Jake Rance. Josephine Rutar, and Linda Xu. Congratulations to all on this academic achievement! Finally, January is National Mentoring Month! Thank you to all current EPS TeamMates Mentors for volunteering your time to positively impact our students!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, December 13, 2021, approval of January bills for payment, approve exchange students as presented.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

The annual public policy hearing was convened at 6:57 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. This annual hearing is to allow public comment on any district policy and to meet specific annual requirements prior to the re-adoption of the district policies including Policy 504.10 – Student Fees and 1005.04 – Parental Involvement in Schools. Public comment was heard.

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by C. Burney that the Superintendent be appointed temporary chair of the Board of Education for the purpose of electing officers for the 2021 year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to organize the officers of the Board of Education for 2021 as follows:

President Board Member
Secretary Board Member
Treasurer Board Member
Acting Secretary Superintendent

and that all checks and warrants be signed by the President and Secretary, or Treasurer as a substitute.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to elect Amy Parks as President, Renee Vokt as Secretary, and Chuck Burney as Treasurer for 2022 and move Amy Parks back to Chair of the Board of Education meeting.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by S. Ringenberg to readopt all Board policies, rules, and regulations as required by State law.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by J. Shatel to designate Pinnacle Bank and American National Bank as the District's primary depositories for 2022, and First National Fremont as the bond fund depository. The Board President and Secretary shall be the authorized signers for all checks drawn on District accounts. The Treasurer

shall be an authorized signer in absence of the President or Secretary. Authorization is also given for the district to use other institutions for investment purposes as needs arise. The Superintendent and Associate Superintendent are authorized as agents of the District to establish accounts as necessary for investment purposes. Within this resolution, the President A. Parks and Secretary R. Vokt are authorized to execute all necessary documents with Pinnacle Bank to establish a \$4,000,000 line of credit. Also, CFO H. Shepard is approved as the authorized person to request advances under the terms of the line of credit. Authorization is granted for district issued credit cards in the names of the Superintendent, Ex. Director of Business Services, and from time to time on a limited basis other such staff as deemed necessary and appropriate by the Superintendent and in compliance with State statute and board policy.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by C. Burney to accept the resignation of teachers Sydney Dyer, Alex Germer, Kathy Grover, Lexi Harbin, Elizabeth Jones, Amanda Lisko, Kristin Phillips, Joseph Moylan, Karla Hamilton, and Tina Swan effective at the end of the 2021-2022 contract year.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of Gwen Dahl, Katie Doherty-Peterson, Carlie Hodgson, Lynn Maas, Megan Miller, Mary Greufe, Madeline Blazek, Staci Stevens, and Kaylee Schutte for the 2022-23 school year. Additionally, the appointments of CADRE Teachers in collaboration with the University of Nebraska at Omaha: Lexi Harbin, Sydney Dyer, Maci Schott, Cameran Jensen, and Karlee Abels for 2022-23. Also, move to amend the contracts of Joseph Hobert, Jennifer Sinclair, and Nathan Wallace to 1.0 FTE for the 2022-23 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to cancel the contract of Adriana Higorani for the 2021-22 school year as recommended by the administration.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the 2022-23 requests for additional curriculum and extra-duty positions as recommended by the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee and the administration at a projected cost of \$3,000 and extra duty pay.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:15 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, February 14, 2022 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.