## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING OCTOBER 11, 2021

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the north wall of the Teacher Training Conference Center. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on September 22, 2021.

The meeting began with Student Council reports from each high school and citizen comment. Public comment was heard. For the "Good News Report" A. Parks stated that Tim Ebers, head coach of the ESHS Cross Country teams and the ESHS Boys track team, was recently recognized as the Hastings College Outstanding Alumni Coach award. Congratulations to Coach Ebers and thank you for your dedication to ESHS athletes! As his Eagle Scout project, Gavin Visser, EHS sophomore, chose to complete a beautification project benefitting our EPS Young Adult Program. Special thank you to Gavin and his volunteers for the amazing new space they created for our students! Sagewood Elementary was one of only 5 Nebraska schools recently named as a National Blue Ribbon School for exemplifying a focus on student success and equity. Congratulations to all involved in the process that occurred for Sagewood to receive this recognition! Congratulations to Victoria Bashara, Sara Espinoza, Alden Mays, and Mollie Petersen for being named US Bank Believers and Achievers awardees, recognizing them for their excellence in academics and participation in NSAA activities! Fred Doscher, Elkhorn North Physical Education teacher, was recently recognized as the Nebraska PE Teacher of the Year! Congratulations to Mr. Doscher and thank you for your dedication to our students!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, September 13, 2021, and approval of October bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt- yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the collective bargaining agreement with Maintenance Union for 2021-22, 2022-23, and 2023-24.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by S. Ringenberg to approve the appointment of Kelly Reding for the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; J. Shatel - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:11 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, November 8, 2021 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Additionally, the annual fall Board/Administrator Workshop is scheduled for November 22, 2021, at 2:00 PM in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.