ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING JUNE 14, 2021

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, and R. Vokt. President Amy Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the wall of the Board Room. Advanced notice of the Board meeting was published in the Douglas County Post-Gazette on May 19, 2021.

For the "Good News Report" A. Parks recognized the following groups, individuals, and schools.

Newsweek recently released its list of best districts in each state, naming EPS the best in Nebraska! Thank you to our families, faculty, staff, and community for being among the many reasons EPS is such a special place!

Additionally, the following groups and individuals earned top honors in their respective sport or activity during the Spring season: Elkhorn North Girls Track - Class B State Runners Up; Elkhorn South Boys Track - Class A State Champions; Elkhorn South Parkway Jazz Band: Division I Rating at UNO Band Festival; Maddie Thomas, representing EHS - State Champion, Girls Long Jump; Reid Nelson, representing ESHS - State Champion, High Jump; Gabe Hinrichs, representing ESHS - State Champion 1600 Meter Run and 3200 Meter Run; Elaina Clement, representing ESHS - Honorable Mention for the National Association for Music Education's Student Songwriters Contest. Congratulations to all and thank you for representing EPS!

Lastly, congratulations to ESHS senior Matthew Wilson on being selected as the Nebrask`a National Finalist for the National High School Theatre Academy and earning the opportunity to perform at the Nebraska High School Theatre Academy Showcase.

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, May 10, 2021, approval of June bills for payment as presented.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the release of contract for Kelly Hilbrands and Sarah Wapelhorst for the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of Shaylen Ferguson, Makenzie Lee, Brooke Schlehuber, and Sashenka Smoot for the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; J. Shatel - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve parent pay monthly bus rates of \$51.00 one-way and \$89.30 round-trip for the 2021-22 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes

It was moved by R. Vokt, seconded by J. Shatel to approve early graduation requests as recommended by the high school principals from Elkhorn North, Elkhorn South, and Elkhorn High School.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe, seconded by C. Burney to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing personnel for the reason that it is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest and for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; J. Shatel - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Parks - yes

The Board entered closed session at 7:13 PM and returned to open session to adjourn the meeting at 7:38 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, July 19, 2021 at 6:30 PM, in the Teacher Training Conference Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.