## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING August 10, 2020

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco recognized Pam Roth, EPS CFO, as recently being named the Nebraska Association School Business Officials Outstanding Business Official of the Year! Congratulations, Pam, and thank you for your continued dedication to EPS! Additionally, 339 Elkhorn Public Schools students were named 2020 AP Scholars, recognizing them for having earned a score of 3 or higher on at least three AP exams during the 2019-20 school year. Of those, 12 were named National AP Scholars for receiving an average score of 4 on all AP exams taken and scores of 4 or higher on at least 8 exams. Congratulations to all honored with this academic achievement!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, July 6, 2020, and approval of August bills for payment as presented.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes, R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by A. Parks to approve the release of contract for Marilyn Mejstrik for the 2020-21 school.

VOTE: C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by A. Parks and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the appointment of Molly Abendroth, Rayden DeLawter, Shauna Parker, and Rebecca Stigge for the 2020-21 school year.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes, R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Fall Reopening and Return to School Resolution in response to the pandemic for the 2020-21 school year.

VOTE: C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by A. Parks to approve the Cooperative Swimming and Diving Program between Elkhorn South High School, Elkhorn High School, and Elkhorn North High School for the 2020-21 and 2021-22 school years.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing litigation strategies and personnel for the reason that it is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest and for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes

The Board entered into Closed session at 7:21 PM and returned to Open Session to adjourn the meeting at 8:25 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, September 14, 2020 in the Teacher Training Center, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. The Board will hold the Budget Hearing at 6:00 PM immediately followed by the Levy Hearing with the Board Meeting immediately following both hearings.