ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING May 11, 2020

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For this meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education, Board members connected online via Zoom, and the meeting was live-streamed for public viewing. Members of the public were invited to make public comment during public comment portion of the meeting or if they did not have at-home access to view the live stream of the meeting, the Elkhorn Public Schools Administration Office was open to provide these in-person opportunities.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco recognized US News & World Report recently released the list of "Best High Schools in Nebraska" naming Elkhorn South High School and Elkhorn High School #1 and #2 in Nebraska, respectively. Congratulations to the students and staff at both EPS high schools that have made this recognition possible, and thank you for your continued dedication to education! Also, Henry Tomsu, Elkhorn South Senior, recently won the Show Your Art music competition held by Omaha Performing Arts. Congratulations, Henry, and thank you for sharing your musical talent with the community! Lastly, congratulations to Harper Keber, 5th grade at West Bay Elementary, and Jacob Strufing, 7th grade at Elkhorn Valley View Middle School on winning 1st and 2nd places, respectfully, in the Virginia Frank Memorial Writing Contest sponsored by the Friends of the Omaha Public Library!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, April 13, 2020, approval of May bills for payment as presented.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes, R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by A. Parks to approve the resignations of Shannon Colling and Edward Mennenga at the end of the 2019-20 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by C. Burney to approve the appointments of Jeffrey Garst, Laura Holker, Megan Lehr, Leah Markley, Amy Sample, Kaitlin Trout, Christina Wutzke, Riley Jenkins, Marissa Miller, Elaina Peterson, Tatum Stenger, Laine Swift, Lindsay Connely, and Hannah Martin for the 2020-21 school.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve changes to Policy 403.03 – Payment and Gifts to Employees, Policy 704.01 – Deposits and Transfers, and Policy 605.01 – Multiple Enrollment.

VOTE: CARRY-OVER MOTION

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the updated high school handbook for the 2020-21 school year.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by C. Burney to approve the proposed curriculum renewal for K-12 Social Studies, including estimated materials costs of \$588,999 to Pearson, \$69,568 to Gibbs Smith, \$82,711 to Bedford Publishing, \$73,631 to Cengage, and \$48,392 to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Parks to approve the 2022-23 Academic Calendar as presented by the Board Curriculum Committee and the administration.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by A. Clark to approve the addition of Quiz Bowl, AMC, Teams+, and District HALE Activities as new extra duty positions beginning in the fall of 2020 as presented by the Board Curriculum Committee and the administration.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by A. Parks and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the revisions to the Elkhorn Teacher Appraisal System as presented by the Board Curriculum Committee and the administration.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes

The meeting was adjourned at 7:15 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, June 8, 2020 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.