ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 13, 2020

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For this meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education, Board members connected online via Zoom, and the meeting was live-streamed for public viewing. Members of the public were invited to make public comment during public comment portion of the meeting and those that did not have at-home access to view the live stream of the meeting were invited to the Elkhorn Public Schools Administration Office to provide these in-person opportunities.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco recognized Nolan Joslin, a 5th grade student at West Bay Elementary, who wrote a letter to baseball which was then featured on ESPN Sports Center and Good Morning, America! This letter was written to practice his persuasive letter writing skills as part of distance learning. Also, congratulations to Kaeson Schooley, 4th grader at West Bay Elementary, for earning "Best in Show" in the Audubon Society of Omaha Art Contest! Additionally, staff members at EPS elementary schools participated in "Teacher Parades", traveling through their students' neighborhoods or encouraging families to drive by the school and bringing smiles and familiarity during this time of uncertainty. Thank you, teachers, for your dedication to our students! Lastly, for the 3rd consecutive year, Elkhorn Public Schools was named a "Best Community for Music Education" by the NAMM Foundation. Thanks to our music instructors and students for their work in earning this award!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, March 9, 2020, and approval of April bills for payment as presented.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes, R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by A. Parks to approve the resignations of Lindsey Anderson, Alexa Feiereisel, Seth Houfek, Chelsea Naber, Elizabeth Nicholas, Brenda Royal, Caitlyn Swearingen, Jenna Verilek, Kim Zach, and Julie Feldman at the end of the 2019-20 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by C. Burney to approve the appointments of Jennifer Allgood, Karen Andersen, Lauren Arbuckle, Julie Baker, Jared Betz, Ashley DeBolt, Maddie Dodd, Christin Frahm Krick, Maggie Gorman, Anna Gottsch, Michaela Gray, Alex Green, Kelly Hilbands, Amy Hill, Kayla Hochstein, Mary Hough, Brett LaBudda, Kelly McMeekin, Pina Miceli, Avery Misfeldt, Melisa Peterson, Christopher Simley, Kolton Wiley, Cassandra deStefano, Hanna Gronemeyer, Erin Lane, Kacie Lindeman, Carly Meier, Michael Ray, Jamie Saurerbrunn, Charlee Wiese, Danielle McGlynn, and Katrina Yale for the 2020-21 school.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the issuance of general obligation bonds in an aggregate principal amount not to exceed \$37,100,000 in accordance with the resolution presented by Paul Grieger with D. A. Davidson, and as drafted by legal counsel, Gilmore & Bell, P.C.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the proposal from All-Makes for Woodbrook Elementary in the amount of \$457,299.27 for furniture and equipment. Additionally, move to approve the proposal from MeTeor Education in the amount of \$1,407,824.65 for furniture and equipment at Elkhorn North HS.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by C. Burney to approve the contract with Heartland Roofing in the amount of \$189,750 for roof replacement on the original classroom wing at Westridge Elementary School.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes

It was moved by A. Parks and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the proposal with Waldinger in the amount of \$320,049.81 to replace the Elkhorn High School fluid cooler and the Westridge Elementary chiller. Additionally, move to approve the proposal from Prairie Mechanical in the amount of \$91,845 to replace the Hillrise Elementary boiler and a Skyline Elementary rooftop unit.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the 3-year contract with Chief School Bus Service and set parent pay rates in 2020-21 as follows: \$86.70 per month for round-trip or \$49.50 per month for one-way.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by A. Parks and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Emergency Resolution given the coronavirus and this global pandemic.

VOTE: A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes

The meeting was adjourned at 7:15 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, May 11, 2020 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.