ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING March 9, 2020

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco recognized the following EPS students were recently announced as Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program: Alexander Eischeid, Skyler Evans, Daniel Hudson, Eliza Kawa, Eugene Kim, Derek Madden, Anna McCaslin, Joshua Oarhe, Julia Patterson, Dylan Sturdivant, Carson Swartzbaugh, and Madison VanWyndgarden. Additionally, the 5th annual Sodexo Future Chefs Competition was held on Thursday, March 5, with the following students earning Top 3 awards in the elementary contest: 1st Place: Gavin Vazquez (Arbor View); 2nd Place: Kingston McNeal (Sagewood); 3rd Place: Sophia Franzluebbers (Skyline). In the middle school competition, the following students earned Top 3 awards: Logan Thomas (Elkhorn Grandview); Murphy Maloney (Elkhorn Grandview); Margarita Marleau (Elkhorn Ridge).

It moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, February 10, 2020, and approval of March bills for payment as presented.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes, R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by A. Clark to approve the resignation Molly Burmester, Christopher Jackson, Lindsay Kellams, Jake Kment, Kimberly Roberts, Mary (Elli) Samuelson, Stephanie Sholin, Theo Murray and Heather Timm at the end of the 2019-20 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; R. Vokt - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the appointments of Casey Allen, Rachel Bruce, Emily Christensen, Jamie Davis, Anthony Dunn, Jed Givens, Sydney Graver, Amanda Hoops, Bailey Josoff, Andrew King, Lisa Rehtmeyer, Nicholas Schuster, Laura Speer, and Ashley Staton for the 2020-21 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Parks to approve the purchase of computers from Staples for \$399,360.01.

VOTE: C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by A. Parks to approve the Building Level and Curriculum Adoption budget increase of \$112,315 for the 2020-21 school year.

VOTE: A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; C. Burney – yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing litigation strategies and personnel for the reason that it is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest and for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual.

VOTE: J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; R. Vokt – yes; C. Burney – yes; A. Clark – yes

The Board entered into closed session at 6:55 PM and returned to open session to adjourn the meeting at 7:55 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, April 13, 2020 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.