ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING OCTOBER 14, 2019

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, A. Parks, A. Clark, C. Burney, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco read the members of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln 2019
Homecoming Court that were Elkhorn graduates, chosen through an application process that focuses on
Academics, Athletics, or Involvement and Volunteering. They included EPS alumni Christina Berger, Mary Greufe,
Lukas Hall, and Morgan Holen. Congratulations to these former students on being recognized for their continued
commitment to excellence! Also, Elkhorn Middle School was one of only 6 Nebraska schools recently chosen as a
National Blue Ribbon School for exemplifying a focus on student success and equity. Congratulations to all
involved in the process that occurred in order for EMS to receive this recognition! Lastly, October is National
Principal Recognition month. In the Elkhorn Public Schools, our principals are essential to our schools and
community. Thank you to all our principals for their tireless efforts in pursuit of excellence. We thank you for your
support of our students, parents, teachers, and support staff each day.

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by C. Burney to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, September 9, 2019 and approval of October bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; A. Clark - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe, seconded by A. Parks to approve the release of contract for Jaime Nietfeld effective December 20, 2019.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the collective bargaining agreement with the Maintenance Union for 2019-20 and 2020-21 fiscal years.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; A. Clark - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt, seconded by A. Parks to approve the furniture bid submitted by All-Makes Equipment in the amount of \$210,948.51 for furniture at Hillrise and Skyline elementary schools.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; A. Clark - yes; C. Burney - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing collective bargaining and litigation.

VOTE: A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes

The Elkhorn Board of Education went into Closed Session at 6:50 PM. No action was taken during this Closed Session and the Board reconvened in Open Session prior to adjournment by President J. Marasco at 7:45 PM. The next regular meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, November 11, 2019 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Additionally, the annual fall Board/Administrator Workshop is scheduled for November 25, 2019, at 2:00 PM in the Teacher Training Conference Center located north of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.