## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 8, 2019

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco recognized that for the second year in a row, Elkhorn Public Schools was one of only 3 Nebraska districts to be recognized by the NAMM Foundation as one of the "Best Communities for Music Education" for our outstanding commitment to music education. Additionally, EPS juniors Easton Dippel and Henry Tomsu were among less than 75 students statewide to be awarded a Nebraska Young Artist Award from the UNL Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts! The award recognizes students for their exceptional talents in visual art, theatre, emerging media, and music. Congratulations to Easton and Henry! Lastly, over 120 middle school students from across the District will participate in this year's Creative Writing Workshop focusing on storytelling, monster creation, blogging, poetry and more! This is a voluntary program where students from all middle schools come together after school to select a session to work on their writing.

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, March 11, 2019 6:30 PM and the Special Hearing, Wednesday, March 27, 2019 8:00 AM, and approval of April bills for payment as presented.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Parks to approve the resignations of Jed Givens, McKenzie Jakub, Andrew Lewis, Maggie Long, Penni Romero, Jaclyn Schneider, Jennifer Sinclair, Megan Stone, Chelsey Sullivan, Stefanie Wendell-McAlpin, John White, Mary Laurel Wise, Payton Guhl, and Amy Eikmeier at the end of the 2018-19 school year.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by R. Vokt to approve appointment of Cal Cross, Riley Devney, Morgan Edwards, Christa Fisher, Alyssa Grell, Lori Hamilton, Shelby Hansen, Elizabeth Milliken, Colton Schneider, Amber Scott, Kyler Urbanovsky, Michelle Wilt, Olivia Acri, Jared Crawford, Brittani Fisher, Michaela Gibbons, Schylir Rowen, Haley Snyder, Paige Dunn, Mallory Charvat, Jacob Nordin, and Renae Wilkening for the 2019-20 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to authorize and approve the construction contract with NebCon, in the base bid amount of \$401,869 for the purpose of creating an underground fiber network that connects to existing fiber and runs to Elkhorn North High School, Middle School #5, and Elementary #12, and authorize, approve, and direct the Superintendent of Schools or designee to sign, execute, and deliver such construction contract, and any documents, or agreements called for in such construction contract, for and on behalf of the School District, to sign and approve any change orders, and to retain any necessary professionals for assistance, to pay the contract price and all transaction costs, change order increases, and expenses related to the construction project and to the site preparation work to be performed and completed, and to take or cause to be taken all other action necessary or appropriate to complete any requirements or obligations under the construction contract.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by C. Burney to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing litigation strategies and real estate purchases.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

The Elkhorn Board of Education went into Closed Session at 7:30 PM. No action was taken during this Closed Session and the board reconvened in Open Session prior to adjournment by President J. Marasco at 7:47 PM. The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, May 13, 2019 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Additionally, Board/Administrator Workshop will be held on Monday, April 22<sup>nd</sup> from 2:00 to 5:00 at the Teacher Training Center, 20650 Glenn Street.