## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING March 11, 2019

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco recognized the ESHS Wind Ensemble was one of only four bands chosen to perform various music selections at National State Bandmasters Association convention. Congratulations to those involved in earning this honor! Also, the following EPS students were recently announced as Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program: Brianna Davis, Mia Giandinoto, Chase Hermreck, Grant Johnson, Gabriel Macken, Alex Page, Noble Rai, Nora Santelman, Benjamin Stieren. Additionally, as the winner of the metro-wide "Say No to Tobacco" challenge, Axton Sayles, 3<sup>rd</sup> grade student at West Dodge Station, will have his artwork displayed on 2 Omaha billboards as a reminder of the dangers of tobacco. Congratulations Axton!

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, February 11, 2019, approval of March bills for payment, and Exchange Students as presented.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt and seconded by A. Parks to approve the resignations of Janet Brink, Mary Connelly, Crista Goehring, Sarah Houston, Robert Huebner, Claire Johnson, Dawn Klein, Larisa Oatman, Kyle Sittler, Amy Sokoll, Mary Thomsen, Isaac Piper, Katie Royal, and Nancy Murdock at the end of the 2018-19 school year. Additionally, approve the release of contract for Marcy Martin previously approved for 2019-20.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Clark to approve the appointment of Eric Burenheide, Rebecca Campbell, Annie Catania, Eric Daigle, Joel Fickel, Jeffrey Hunter, Morgan Johnson, Hannah Knight, Daniel Lohmeier, Kelly Murray, Holly Nielsen, Ann Prince, Abigail Pritchard, Amber Sims, Gail Staehr, Erin Stover, Jordyn Stryker, Cody Thompson, Hanna Warak, Jonathan Zumbrennen, Jenna Hannibal, Annie Sawatzky, Madison Lammel, Courtney Patterson, and Katherine Stegman for the 2019-20 school year and Jonathan Liakos in 2018-19. Also, amending the 1 FTE contract for Chloe Kelly to a .5 FTE in 2019-20.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by N. Rogic-Gruefe to authorize and approve the construction contract with Prairie Construction Co., in the base bid amount of \$2,172,900 and acceptance of the alternate bid totaling \$20,900 labeled CC-3A – asphalt shingles for the purpose of expanded seating, restrooms, concessions, changing area, and other site improvements at Elkhorn Stadium, and authorize, approve, and direct the Superintendent of Schools or designee to sign, execute, and deliver such construction contract, and any documents, or agreements called for in such construction contract, for and on behalf of the School District, to sign and approve any change orders, and to retain any necessary professionals for assistance, to pay the contract price and all transaction costs, change order increases, and expenses related to the construction project and to the site preparation work to be performed and completed, and to take or cause to be taken all other action necessary or appropriate to complete any requirements or obligations under the construction contract.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Gruefe and seconded by A. Clark to approve the purchase of a new scoreboard for Elkhorn Stadium in the amount of \$399,835.50.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the 2020-21 and 2021-22 School Calendars as presented and recommended by the Americanism and Curriculum Committee.

VOTE: A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by A. Parks to recognize the Elkhorn Education Association to represent District teachers for the purpose of collective bargaining to establish a negotiated agreement for the 2020-21 school year.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by N. Rogic-Gruefe to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing litigation strategies and real estate purchases.

VOTE: A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes

The Elkhorn Board of Education went into Closed Session at 7:08 PM. No action was taken during this Closed Session and the board reconvened in Open Session prior to adjournment by President J. Marasco at 7:58 PM.

On March 27, 2019 at 8:00 a.m., the Elkhorn Public Schools shall conduct a public hearing on the proposed acquisition of real estate in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.

The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, April 8, 2019 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.