ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING February 11, 2019

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and N. Rogic-Greufe. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco recognized Skyline Elementary kindergarten teacher Amanda Lisko was recently recognized as the Star 104.5 Teacher of the Week – congratulations Amanda! Additionally, EPS successfully launched the TeamMates Mentoring Program in January, and currently has over 50 active mentoring matches in place. Lastly, planning for the 2019 Summer Enrichment Program continues, with registration for this year's 16 course offerings opening on Wednesday, March 6 at 5:00 p.m.

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by C. Burney to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, January 14, 2019 and approval of February bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Parks to approve the resignations of Molly Allen, Kelsey Cooper, Patricia Finks, Patrick Schiley, Sally Studnicka, Elisabeth Eisenbacher, and McKenzie Flanagan at the end of the 2018-19 school year.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to accept the resignations of Dennis DeLong, Michelle Blanchard, and Adel Valasek effective the end of the 2018-19 school year and approve the Early Retirement Incentive Program request.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes

It was moved by A. Parks and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointments of Allison Beck, Joy Fuller, Christopher Jackson, Jonathan Liakos, Katelyn McCarthy, Jennifer Nicholson, Hannah Rundle, Amanda Sauer, Peyton Skiles, Elizabeth Tyler, Sarah Zimmerman, Marci Martin, and Tanner Schutt for the 2019-20 school year and Sarah Addink in 2018-19. In addition, the Board amends the contracts for Lindsey Bogatz, Carmon Campbell, Linda Miliken, and Brian Nelsen to 1.0 FTE for the 2019-20 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by A. Clark to approve the contract with Heartland Roofing in the amount of \$320,000 for roofing projects at Elkhorn Middle School Area 5, Hillrise Elementary Area 2, and Elkhorn High School Area 6 as recommended by the administration.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by C. Burney to approve the preliminary Instructional and Curriculum Adoption budget for the 2019-20 school year as presented and recommended by the administration.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the issuance of general obligation bonds in an aggregate principal amount not to exceed \$78,000,000 in accordance with the resolution presented by Paul Greiger with D. A. Davidson, and as drafted by legal counsel, Gilmore & Bell, P.C.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by A. Clark to approve the application to NDE for distribution of funds to purchase textbooks for district private school students in the amount of \$17,795.98.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by A. Clark and seconded by C. Burney to direct that the Superintendent take steps necessary to identify property to be acquired by the District for a new elementary school site and a new middle school site. Further, the Superintendent shall prepare and provide the Board with a recommendation for the acquisition of such property or properties and, further, that the Superintendent take such necessary preliminary steps to acquire such properties subject to the Board's approval and in compliance with the laws relating to eminent domain and condemnation for the acquisition of private property for public purposes.

VOTE: N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by C. Burney and seconded by A. Parks to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing litigation strategies, real estate purchases, and personnel for the reason that it is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest and for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

The Elkhorn Board of Education went into Closed Session at 7:01 PM. No action was taken during this Closed Session and the board reconvened in Open Session prior to adjournment by President J. Marasco at 7:40 PM.

The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, March 11, 2019 at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.