## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING June 11, 2018

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and S. Zingler. A. Clark absent and excused. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco reported NSAA Cup Standings were recently released, naming both Elkhorn South High School and Elkhorn High School in the Top 5 in the State for Class B, All-School rankings.

Congratulations to Lauren Franzen (EHS) and Bennett Wright (ESHS) for being recognized by Governor Ricketts during a ceremony at the State Capitol for their academic achievement of earning a perfect 36 on the ACT.

Congratulations to the students at West Dodge Station for being named the Omaha metro area's Pints to Gallons Milk Drive top fundraiser for the second year in a row! Students raised more than \$3,000 for community food pantries to purchase an under-donated item: milk. The school was rewarded with a visit from Kansas City Chiefs mascot KC Wolf on May 14.

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, May 14, 2018 and approval of June bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the release of contract for Kaden Kaping effective immediately.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; J. Marasco - yes

It was moved by A. Parks, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the appointment of Hillary Anson, Megan Bellows, Kelsey Cooper, Sarah Holmes, Briana Holthaus for 2018-19.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the inter-local agreement between Elkhorn Public Schools and Douglas County for design and construction of George Miller Parkway as required by the City of Omaha and Douglas County related to construction of HS #3.

VOTE: S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Parks to approve the inter-local agreement between Elkhorn Public Schools and Douglas County for design, improvements, and construction of 180th Street as required by the City of Omaha and Douglas County related to construction of HS #3.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by S. Zingler to approve a \$.10 increase to the price of an adult breakfast for the 2018-19 school year as recommended by Sodexo and the Nebraska Department of Education while all other adult and student lunch and breakfast prices remain the same as the previous year.

VOTE: J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; S. Zingler – yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by R. Vokt to approve an increase for parent pay bus rates to \$47.00 one-way and \$82.55 round-trip for the 2018-19 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; S. Zingler – yes; C. Burney – yes; J. Marasco – yes

It was moved by A. Parks, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the revisions to Policy 502.09 – Foreign Exchange Students and Policy 607.06 – Student Field Trips, Extended Co-curricular Trips as recommended by the Policy Committee.

CARRY-OVER VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; S. Zingler – yes; C. Burney – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the following early graduation request as recommended by their principal: ESHS Students - Jacob Michalshi, Maison McCulley, Jennifer Johnson, Sam Greguska, Kelsie Rolfes, Katie Johnson, Claire Carlsen, Ashley Vaske, Savannah Smith, Italia Rouse, Alana Freeburg, Jenna Aldridge, Ellie Sorensen, and Nathan Matulevicz; EHS Students - Dominick Goben, Skylar Heinrich, Chianna Knaack, Jasimine Stevens, and Hunter Tarrence.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; S. Zingler – yes; C. Burney – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by R. Vokt to approve an additional 1 F.T.E School Resource Officer to serve Elkhorn Valley View, Elkhorn Grandview, and Elkhorn Ridge Middle Schools and direct Supt. B. Habrock to sign a Memo of Understanding with the Douglas County Sheriff's Office.

VOTE: S. Zingler – yes; C. Burney – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the revised calendars for 2018-19 and 2019-20, moving January in-service date from the 14th to the 21<sup>st</sup> in 2019, and to move the 2020 January in-service date from the 13th to the 20<sup>th</sup> in 2020, as recommended by the committee and administration.

VOTE: C. Burney – yes; J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; S. Zingler – yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by R. Vokt to name high school #3, which is under construction near 180<sup>th</sup> between Maple and Fort Street, Elkhorn North High School.

VOTE: J. Marasco – yes; A. Parks – yes; R. Vokt – yes; S. Zingler – yes; C. Burney – yes

The board received a presentation by DLR regarding the design for Elkhorn North High School. Additionally, CFO P. Roth presented preliminary budget development information for the 2018-19 school year.

Board President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 7:55 PM. The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, July 16, 2018, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.