## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING MAY 14, 2018

The regular May meeting was preceded by a public budget hearings. Advance notice of this hearing and the board meeting was published in the *Douglas County Post Gazette*. The Board of Education made available a current copy of the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

Budget Hearing– The hearing was called to order at 6:15 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Parks, R. Vokt, A. Clark, and S. Zingler. Chief Financial Officer P. Roth gave a recommendation on behalf of the administration to amend the 2017-2018 Special Building Fund budget. The proposed Special Building Fund budget amendment reflects the proceeds from the issuance of bonds approved by the District voters in March 2018. No additional Special Building Fund taxes are requested as a result of the amendment. The proposed amendment to the Special Building Fund increases the Budgeted Disbursements & Transfers from the previously adopted \$12,750,000 to \$43,025,000 based on the recent issuance of \$30.275 million of the bonds approved by the voters in March 2018. The hearing was closed at 6:18 pm.

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and S. Zingler. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco reported Several EPS students participated in the State FBLA competition and brought home top 10 awards, including: Josh Thiele – Accounting II and Business Calculations; Drew Albritton, Ryan Leyda, and Sam Lilly – Entrepeneurship; Aaliyan Pekarek, Julie Labegaline and Mikki Holthaus – Hospitality Management; Aaliyan Pekarek – Impromptu Speaking; Joel Mancino – Personal Finance.

Sixteen students represented ESHS with prize-winning artwork at the statewide 2017-18 Scholastic Art Show, with 3 students earning Gold Key awards, and 8 students bringing home Silver Key awards. Additionally, two Elkhorn South students, Cassie Moore and Creighton Scott, have been selected as two of only 18 artists to exhibit their work at the 3<sup>rd</sup> annual "My Life in Nebraska" Exhibit at the Governor's Residence this summer.

Elkhorn Public Schools is one of only three Nebraska districts to be recognized by the NAMM Foundation as one of the "Best Communities for Music Education" for our outstanding commitment to music education.

Elkhorn South High School and Elkhorn High School were named the top 2 high schools in Nebraska by the US News and World Report, earning them National gold and silver medals, respectively.

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the Consent Agenda. Consent agenda items include approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, April 16 and April 23, 2018 and approval of May bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by C. Burney to approve the resignations of Richard Arch, Alison Cohen, Kelly Geschwender, Barbara Mohrman, and Megan Myers at the end of the 2017-18 school year.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Clark to approve the request for release of contract for Hillary Berns, Sara Zajicek, and Devon Watson at the end of the 2017-18 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark – yes; J. Marasco - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by A. Parks to approve the appointments of Megan Barney, Jody Decker, Pia DeVries, Katelin Lempka, David Quincy, Kylie York, Danielle Anderson, Elle Banghart, Amy Baumert, Anna Goldenstein, Alexis Nelson, Kaylee Sorensen, Darla Johnson, Carmen Cambell, and Stephanie Mallisee for 2018-19.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by A. Clark to approve an amended Special Building Fund Budget of Disbursements & Transfers in the amount of \$43,025,000.

VOTE: S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by S. Zingler to authorize and approve the construction contract with Sampson Construction Co., Inc., in the base bid amount of \$66,279,000 and acceptance of the alternate bid of \$20,000 for fixed auditorium seating for the purpose of constructing a new high school building and other site improvements, and authorize, approve, and direct the Superintendent of Schools or designee to sign, execute, and deliver such construction contract, and any documents, or agreements called for in such construction contract, for and on behalf of the School District, to sign and approve any change orders, and to retain any necessary professionals for assistance, to pay the contract price and all transaction costs, change order increases, and expenses related to the construction project and to the site preparation work to be performed and completed, and to take or cause to be taken all other action necessary or appropriate to complete any requirements or obligations under the construction contract.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes

The board received a report on graduation by Principal M. Kalvoda and Principal D. Radicia.

Board President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 6:53 pm. The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, June 11, 2018, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.