## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 16, 2018

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and S. Zingler. Secretary Chuck Burney noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" C. Burney reported that EHS junior Vy Tran was recently recognized as a Level I/II Nebraska World Language Distinguished Scholar for her leadership in language learning, commitment to language study, appreciation for cultural diversity, and communicative competence in the Japanese language.

Congratulations to all students who participated in the state Destination Imagination competition. 15 teams from across the District earned top 5 placements, with 4 teams earning 1<sup>st</sup> place awards and a trip to the National competition!

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, March 12, 2018 and Monday, March 26, 2018, and approval of April bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt- yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the resignations of Muriel Bacus, Brittany Borchers, Christopher Heiman, Meredith Hester, Laura Johnson, Kimberly Loofe, Andrew Luebbe, Michele McGargill, Carly Mendlik, Bryan Meyer, Lydia Nashleanas, Kathryn Rosinsky, Taylor Shepard, Sharon Smith, Betsy Thomas, Danielle Turner, Brittnie Abler, Alyssa Hansen, Andrea McLey, Ashley Burt, and Scott Jorgenson at the end of the 2017-18 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent

It was moved by A. Parks, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointments of Coleen Baker Cuda, Samantha Boyle, Ashley Brooner, Allison Dirks, Makenzie Duffield, Chloe Fox, Danielle Frederick, Brian Gralheer, Kailey Heuertz, McKenzie Jakub, Claire Johnson, Cherrie Kerr, Morgan Knobbe, Erik Kohl, Megan McBride, Brooke Matney, Stephanie Millard, Nancy Niemann, Mikala Nightengale, Tiffany Opperman, Paige Ozmun, Malissie Plugge, Jairin Potter, Mary Samuelson, Eric Shanahan, Claire Shook, Brenda Smrdel, Caitlyn Swearingen, Maureen Walding, Nicholas Davis, David Hansen, Hannah Holst, Alexa Krumwiede, Jaime Kuehn, Kylie Murcek, Brianna Paulsen, Blair Petersen, Amanda Suiter, Deborah Wolfe for the 2018-19 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt, seconded by A. Parks to approve the interlocal cooperation agreement between the Elkhorn Public Schools and Sanitary Improvement District No. 582 of Douglas County, Nebraska allowing the payment of \$407,377 to the Elkhorn Public Schools as satisfaction of any and all cost and expenses incurred the school district related to the design and construction of improvements around 180<sup>th</sup> Street and Grand Avenue.

VOTE: S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Clark to approve and award a contract to Floors, Inc. in the amount of \$308,744.00 for carpet replacement for projects at Fire Ridge, Manchester, and Elkhorn High School.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes

It was moved by A. Parks, seconded by S. Zingler to approve and award a contract to Heartland Roofing and Glassmasters in the amount of \$646,000 for window replacement at Westridge and the Central Office.

VOTE: A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Clark to award a contract to Heartland Roofing and McKinnis in the amount of \$510,028 for roofing repair and replacement at Elkhorn High School.

VOTE: J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by R. Vokt to award a contract to TR Construction in the amount of \$585,630 for concrete resurfacing projects at Westridge, Hillrise, Skyline, and the Central Office.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the issuance of general obligation bonds in an aggregate principal amount not to exceed \$30,275,000 in accordance with the resolution presented by Paul Grieger, D.A. Davidson, and as drafted by legal counsel, Gilmore & Bell, P.C.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; S.Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Parks to approve the proposed administrator salary and benefit package for the 2018-19 school year and support staff salary and benefit packages for the 2018-19 school year as recommended by the administration.

VOTE: S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by A. Parks, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the proposed Superintendent Contract with Superintendent Bary Habrock effective July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2021 as recommended by the Negotiations Committee.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes

It was moved by A. Parks, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the revisions to Policy 502.09 – Foreign Exchange Students and Policy 607.06 – Student Field Trips, Extended Co-curricular Trips as recommended by the Policy Committee.

## NO VOTE DUE TO CARRY-OVER MOTION TO MAY MEETING

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the proposed curriculum renewal for elementary language arts as recommended by the Board Americanism & Curriculum Committee.

VOTE: A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by R. Vokt, seconded by A. Parks to approve proposed language changes to the Elkhorn Teacher Appraisal System as recommended by the Board Americanism & Curriculum Committee.

VOTE: J. Marasco - absent; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, May 14, 2018, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Additionally, a Board/Administration Workshop is planned for April 23, 2018 at 3:30 PM at the Teacher Training Center (formerly the Cafetorium located north of the Central Office at 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022).