## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING March 12, 2018

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and S. Zingler. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco reported Both Elkhorn High Schools recently announced students named as National Merit Award finalists: Grace Blusys, Kelly Wong and Bennett Wright at ESHS and Lauren Franzen at EHS.

The robotics team at Elkhorn Valley View Middle School recently earned first place, out of 9 teams, at the Nebraska Robotics Expo. Congratulations to all involved in this success!

The Nebraska Department of Education has released District Performance Classifications for last year. Elkhorn is one of only four districts in the state to receive an "Excellent" rating and is the only district in the state that has maintained that rating for all three of the years that the system has been in place.

Congratulations to several EVVMS art students who earned awards in the 2018 state art competition including: Gold Medals - Linda Lu, Madison Meyer, and Sophia Rife; Silver Medals - Ellie Adamson, Maci Hain, Laura Li, and Madison Meyer; Honorable Mention - Haley Hubbert and Mia Mroczek.

Congratulation to the EHS Girls Basketball Team on their recent State Championship. Additionally, congratulations to ESHS on being recognized with the Class B Sportsmanship Award.

As an extension to the Good News Report, the ESHS Dance Team visited to speak to the board of highlights on an outstanding season including an 8<sup>th</sup> Place out of 70 teams at a recent national competition.

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, February 12, 2018, approval of March bills for payment, and approval of three exchange students.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the resignation of Carol Akers, Evan Christensen, Hillary Christensen, Ashley Dabelstein, Gina Hipp, Samantha Isaac, Kendra Kortus, Tiffany Meysenburg, Ronald Phelps, Ashley Ridder, Kaitlin Rohlfsen, Meghan Sullivan, and Zachary Wojtowicz at the end of the 2017-18 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by A. Parks to appoint contracts for Montessa Munoz, Jillian Parlor, Kristen Muldoon, Lauren Arnett, Oliver Harder, Alana Baack, Dillon Luke, Brian Nelsen, Katherine Samson, Ashton Zabrowski, Beatriz Wieseman, and Sarah Stephenson for the 2018-19 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Clark to approve the application to NDE for distribution of funds to purchase textbooks for district private school students in the amount of \$3,660.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes

The board reviewed upcoming meetings including school visits.

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by A. Clark to enter into a Closed Session of the Elkhorn Board of Education for the purposes of discussing litigation strategies.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

The Elkhorn Board of Education went into Closed Session at 7:04 PM for the purposes of discussing litigation strategies. No action was taken during this Closed Session and the board reconvened in Open Session prior to adjournment by President J. Marasco at 8:00 PM.

The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, April 16, 2018, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Additionally, a possible Special Board meeting is planned for March 26, 2018 at 8:00 AM if the bond issue passes.