ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING February 12, 2018

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks, R. Vokt, and S. Zingler. President John Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco reported Elkhorn Public Schools district was recently named the Best Public Education District in Nebraska by Business Insider. The ranking was determined based on factors including the strength of academics, health and safety, diversity, and the quality of teachers.

Teams from all four EPS middle schools landed spots in the Top 5 during the 3M Mathcounts competition: 1st – EGMS; 3rd – EVVMS; 4th – EMS; 5th – ERMS. Congratulations to all students who participated and thank you to the staff who coached the students to these victories!

EGMS 8th Grade band was chosen as one of only four bands, and the only middle school band, to perform for the Nebraska State Band Masters Association annual convention. The performance will take place on Friday, March 2 at 2:30 p.m. at 2:30 pm the Kimball Recital Hall on the UNL campus. Congratulations to the students and staff involved for receiving this honor!

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by A. Clark to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, January 8, 2018 and approval of February bills for payment.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the resignations of Sue Adamson, Sara Alsup, Heidi Blum, Jennifer Ford, Jenna Hannibal, Gail Lipari, Deb Madden, Kati Pike, Christine Quandt, Ashley Rasmussen, Danika Calebretto, Andrew Willis, Julia Reddel, Joseph Timmerman, Allison Beck, Cassie Rathman, and Alexandra Schutte at the end of the 2017-18 school year.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by S. Zingler, seconded by A. Parks to approve the resignations of Debra Neighbors and Karen Crawford effective at the end of the 2017-18 school year and approve the Early Retirement Incentive Program request.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of Kayla Anderson, Molly Burmester, Melissa Christensen, Holly Clauson, Alicia Dallman Shoemaker, Joelle Feeney, Debora Hossley, Seth Houfef, Alyssa Howell, Cheri Jonas, Katherine Kelly, Cortney Larsen, Abigail Magers, Beth Peitzmeier, Alyssa Pravecek, Nicole Reznicek, Lisa Sailer, Edwin Wiest, Deb Madden, Hollie Burson, Jennifer Sinclair, Kayla Farrel, Lauren Wehrle, and Amanda Breazeale, for 2018-19. Additionally, approval of the amendment for Michael Bressler's contract from .5 FTE to 1.0 FTE.

VOTE: R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes

It was moved by A. Parks, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the Extended Leave request from Melissa Lee for the 2018-19 school year as set forth in the Negotiated Agreement.

VOTE: S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by S. Zingler to approve the inter-local agreement between the City of Omaha, SID 575- Blue Sage Creek, SID 577 – Westbury Farm, SID 578 – Westbury Creek, and the Elkhorn Public Schools to construct a traffic signal at 204th/F Streets for the cost to the district of \$118,625.38.

VOTE: C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by C. Burney to approve the preliminary Instructional and Curriculum Adoption budget for the 2018-19 school year as presented and recommended by the administration.

VOTE: A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes

It was moved by A. Clark, seconded by A. Parks to recognize the Elkhorn Education Association as the bargaining agent for non-supervisory certificated staff for the 2019-20 school year.

VOTE: J. Marasco - yes; A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes

It was moved by C. Burney, seconded by R. Vokt to approve the 3-year lease agreement for copy/print management with Bischop's Business for \$423,360.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; R. Vokt - yes; S. Zingler - yes; C. Burney - yes; A. Clark - yes; J. Marasco - yes

The board received a report on instructional time per Nebraska Department of Education Rule 10. Additionally, the board reviewed upcoming meetings.

Board President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 7:07 pm. The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Monday, March 12, 2018, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.