ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING MAY 8, 2017

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, A. Parks, A. Clark, S. Zingler, C. Burney and R. Vokt. J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco acknowledged that 5 students in the Elkhorn district competed in the National Geographic State Bee, after qualifying through individual school competitions: Sam Peterson (7th Grade, EVVMS), Noah Lindberg (6th Grade, EMS) Ryan Mensch (5th Grade, Manchester) Carter O'Neel (5th Grade, Skyline) Gabe Whitten (7th Grade, ERMS). Hillrise 5th grade student Ava Johnson was recently named one of the Top 40 Regional Finalists in the Future Chef Challenge, hosted by Sodexo, after winning the District competition. Elkhorn High School class of 2017 had seven students qualify for the National Merit Program including: Finalists (top 1% in the country): Jacob Carmichael, Dominic Giandinoto, and Noah Moreano. Semi-Finalists: Madison Hernandez. National Merit Commended: Jason Balters, Anthony Benes, Sam Christensen, Zach Gilbert. Sam Curry (EHS) earned first place at State FBLA in the Cyber Security division.

The Board received a report on EHS Student Council Activities from EHS Officers B. Carlson and J. Habrock, and ESHS Student Council Activities from C. Bopes and F. Husseini.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by S. Zingler to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

- Approval of Minutes of the Monday, April 10, 2017 Regular Meeting and the April 24, 2017 Board/Administrator Workshop & Meeting
- Presentation of May bills for approval and payment
- Approval of Foreign Exchange Student

Vote: C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, R. Vokt – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by A. Parks to approve the resignations and contract releases of Anna Strohm, Elizabeth Walker, Shannon Wallingford, John Strohm, Crystal Reynoso, Stephanie Jenkins, Jenna Watley, Randy Donner, Ryan Ambrose and Benjamin Hansen effective May 26, 2017 as recommended by the administration.

Vote: R. Vokt - yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by S. Zingler to appoint the following certificated staff for the 2017-18 school year: Kyle Sittler, Keli Boutwell, Alexis Pawoll, Amy Hendryx, Mackenzie Lammel, Cory Miles, Megan Rash, Jean McBride, Shaun McMahon, Stephanie Frederick, Kathleen Glow, Sarah Alsup, Barbara Mohrman, Jennifer Otten, Jeffrey Kassmeier and Jessica Maxwell as recommended by the administration.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, R. Vokt - yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by S. Zingler to approve amending Policies 802.08 (Meal Charge), 301.01 (Administrative Team), 301.03 (Line and Staff Relationship), 301.04 (Communication Channels), 302.02 (Superintendent Contract and Contract Non-renewal), 302.08 (Superintendent Consulting/Outside Employment), 303.01 (Administrator Positions), 303.03 (Administrator Contract and Contract Non-renewal), 303.05 (Administrator Duties and Job Descriptions), 303.06 (Administrator Appraisal), 303.09 (Administrator Consulting/Outside Employment, 303.10 (Administrator Retention Incentive Program (ARIP), 304.01 (Administrator Regulations and Handbooks) and 305.01 (Administrator Code of Ethics) as recommended by the Administration and Policy Committee.

Vote: Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, R. Vokt – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by A. Clark to approve the proposed curriculum renewal for Media, Fine Arts, Guidance and World Language as recommended by Curriculum Committee and the administration.

Vote: R. Vokt – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Parks to approve the Interlocal Agreement between the District and Sanitary Improvement Districts 493, 495, 496, 549 and 555 as recommended by Curriculum Committee and the administration.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, R. Vokt – yes. Motion Carried.

The Board briefly discussed:

- •Graduation Reports from EHS & ESHS Principals
- *Announced the Core Team for Blue Sage Elementary School (opens 2018-19)

President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 6:58 pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, June 5, 2017. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office.