ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING APRIL 10, 2017

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, A. Parks and S. Zingler. Member R. Vokt was absent and excused. President J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco reported that 12 ESHS students attended State DECA conference; the following students placed in individual and team competitions: Accounting: Josh Wax (1st) and Cole Lyons (2nd) Business Law (team): Jacob McNeill and Katherine Walls (3rd). 8 students participated on a combined EHS/ESHS team in SkillsUSA Nebraska State Leadership Convention. This was the first year the competition has been offered to EPS students. Emma Arp (ESHS) placed second in the Medical Math Competition, Siobhan Helms (EHS) placed second in Criminal Justice and Micheal Hamer (EHS) placed second in Automotive Refinishing.

The Board received reports on EHS Student Council Activities from Officer D. Giandinoto and ESHS Student Council Activities from Officers J. McNeill and J. Gideon. In addition, Michael Oestmann (20224 Gateway Road, Elkhorn, Nebraska), Michael Gilbert (17083 Seward Street Elkhorn, Nebraska) and Michael Fagen (3812 North 209th Street, Elkhorn, Nebraska) addressed the Board regarding a school calendar concern.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by C. Burney to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of Minutes of the Monday, March 13, 2017 Regular Meeting
- Presentation of April bills for approval and payment

Vote: C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Parks – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes, R. Vokt – absent. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by S. Zingler to accept the resignations effective May 25, 2017 from Jacob Brawner, Tanner Schutt, Linda Baumann, Stacey Oberembt, Donn Kasner, Deb Scharf and Amy Baumert with regrets and thanks for service.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, S. Zingler– yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes, R. Vokt – absent. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by C. Burney to appoint the following certificated staff for the 2017-18 school year: Brittany Nielsen, Greg Gross, Sarah Houston, Rebecca Bryan, Dawn Ruzicka, Ashley Dabelstein, Belarmino Chavez, Carlie Bull, Jenna Hannibal, Olivia Warrick, Shelby Henderson, Kendra Smith, Mallory Dorn, Kelle Lawrence, Kelley Sullivan, Adrienne Kennedy, Joel Ratzlaff and Staci Raddish as recommended by the administration.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes, R. Vokt – absent. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Parks to approve amending Policies 402.09 (Credit Cards), 502.02 (Nonresident and Homeless Student), 504.11 (Initiations, Hazing, Secret Clubs and Outside Organizations), 507.14 (Return to Learn from Cancer), 604.07 (Title I Parental and Family Involvement-New Policy), 507.13 (Internet Safety), 507.07 (Asthma Protocol) and 202.02 (Board Member Conflict of Interest) as recommended by the Administration and Policy Committee.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes, R. Vokt – absent. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by S. Zingler to approve amending Policies 802.08 (Meal Charge), 301.01 (Administrative Team), 301.03 (Line and Staff Relationship), 301.04 (Communication Channels), 302.02 (Superintendent Contract and Contract Non-renewal), 302.08 (Superintendent Consulting/Outside Employment), 303.01 (Administrator Positions), 303.03 (Administrator Contract and Contract Non-renewal), 303.05 (Administrator Duties and Job Descriptions), 303.06 (Administrator Appraisal), 303.09 (Administrator Consulting/Outside Employment, 303.10 (Administrator Retention Incentive Program (ARIP), 304.01 (Administrator Regulations and Handbooks) and 305.01 (Administrator Code of Ethics) as recommended by the Administration and Policy Committee. (Motion to be held over for vote at the May 8th Meeting)

It was moved by S. Zingler by A. Clark to approve the proposed administrator salary and benefit packages for the 2017-18 school year and support staff salary and benefit packages for the 2017-18 school year all as recommended by the Negotiations Committee and the administration.

Vote: S. Zingler – yes, C. Burney – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – absent. Motion Carried.

The Board received reports on and briefly discussed:

- •Upcoming Board Member Events
- •Moved the August 2017 Regular Meeting Date to August 21 instead of August 14

President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 7:23 pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, May 8, 2017. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office. A Board/Administrator workshop is scheduled for April 24, 2017 beginning at 3:30 pm.