## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING JANUARY 9, 2017

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, A. Parks, A. Clark, C. Burney, S. Zingler and R. Vokt. Prior to the start of the meeting Board President J. Marasco administered the oath of office to newly elected Board member R. Vokt. J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco acknowledged that for the fifth consecutive year, the Elkhorn Public Schools District was placed on the College Board's 7th annual AP District Honor Roll. Criteria to be placed on the Honor Roll include increasing the number of students participating in AP while also increasing or maintaining the percentage of students earning AP Exam scores of 3 or higher. While there are a few other districts in Nebraska that have received this honor multiple times, the Elkhorn Public Schools district is the only one in the state of Nebraska to have received it more than twice, which is reflective of the culture our staff has worked to create to constantly raise the academic bar for all students. Congratulations to Jack Ellis and Karthik Narayanan of Elkhorn South High School for being recognized by the Nebraska Department of Education, during the Commissioner's Recognition, for receiving awards at the National DECA competition. The recent update to the District and individual building websites also included making all websites mobile friendly. For additional information on the changes made, please check out the District website news article.

The Board received a report on ESHS Student Council Activities from Officers H. Raymond and F. Husseini and on EHS Student Council Activities from Officers C. Craven and D. Giandinoto. In addition, Michael Oestmann (20224 Gateway Road, Elkhorn, Nebraska) addressed the Board regarding a school calendar concern.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by S. Zingler to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

- Approval of Agenda
- Approval of Minutes of the December 12, 2016 6:30 PM Regular Meeting and December 19, 2016 8:00 AM Special Meeting
- Approval of January bills for payment

Vote: C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

The annual policy public hearing was convened at 6:55 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, A. Parks, A. Clark, R. R. Vokt, C. Burney and S. Zingler. There was no public comment and the hearing was adjourned at 6:57 pm.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by A. Parks that Superintendent S. Baker be appointed temporary chair of the Board of Education for the purpose of electing officers for the 2017 year.

## **Board Minutes 1/9/17 Page Two.....**

Vote: S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by C. Burney to organize the School District officers for the year 2017 as follows: President/Board Member, Secretary/Board Member, Treasurer/Board Member, Acting Secretary/Superintendent and that all checks and warrants be signed by the President and Treasurer, or the Secretary as a substitute.

Vote: A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Parks seconded by S. Zingler to elect John Marasco as President, Chuck Burney as Secretary and Aaron Clark as Treasurer for 2017.

Vote: R. Vokt – yes, A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by S. Zingler to readopt all Board policies, rules and regulations at this time as recommended by the administration.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by A. Parks to designate American Interstate Bank and American National Bank as the District's primary depositories for 2017, and First National Bank Fremont as the bond fund depository. The Board President and Treasurer shall be authorized signers for all checks drawn on District accounts. The Secretary shall be an authorized signer in the absence of the President or Treasurer. Authorization is also given for the District to use other institutions for investment purposes as the need arises. The Superintendent and Associate Superintendent are authorized as agents of the District to establish accounts as necessary for investment purposes. Authorization is granted for District issued credit cards in the names of the Superintendent, Director of Business Support Services, and from time to time on a limited basis other such staff as deemed necessary and appropriate by the Superintendent and in compliance with State Statue and Board Policy.

Vote: A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by C. Burney to accept the resignation effective May 26, 2017, or the last official work day of the 2016-17 school year for Cecil Hinshaw.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Clark to appoint MOEC CADRE teachers Lexi Arlt, Danielle Anderson and Anna Goldenstein for the 2017-18 school year as recommended by the administration.

## **Board Minutes 1/9/17 Page Three.....**

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Parks seconded by C. Burney to appoint Sarah Lewis, Carly Mendlik and Amy Baumert effective January 3, 2017 as recommended by the administration.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by C. Burney to amend the contracts of Jeffrey Maas, Madeline Hutt and Zachary Wojtowicz from .5 FTE to 1.0 FTE effective for the 2017-18 school year as recommended by the administration.

Vote: S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Clark to approve the preliminary Instructional Budget for the 2017-18 school year as presented and recommended by the administration.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Parks seconded by S. Zingler to approve the 2017-18 Curriculum Proposals as recommended by the Curriculum Committee and administration at an estimated one time cost of \$12,000 and projected \$15,910 in annual fees.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by R. Vokt seconded by A. Parks to name elementary #11, scheduled to open for the 2018-19 school year Blue Sage Elementary School as recommended by the Buildings & Grounds Committee and the administration.

Vote: A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Vokt – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

The Board received reports on and briefly discussed:

- •Annual Tax Finance Report
- •Annual Board Self Appraisal
- •Annual Superintendent Appraisal
- •Discussed dates for upcoming Board events

Board President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 7:33 pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, February 13, 2017. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office.