ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING MAY 9, 2016

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, A. Parks, A. Clark, S. Zingler and C. Burney. R. Riggle was absent and excused. J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco acknowledged that Grandview Middle School 8th graders, Madi VanWyngarden and Sydney Cole earned second place at the Nebraska History Day challenge, they will go on to compete at the national competition in Washington, D.C. in June. Madi and Sydney created a documentary on the life and work of Jacques Cousteau, which includes an interview with Cousteau's grandson. On Wednesday, May 4 the District hosted a well-attended reception in honor of six retirees, who combined, had more than 100 years of service to the Elkhorn Public Schools.

The Board received a report on EHS Student Council Activities from Officers C. Craven and N. Moreano and ESHS Student Council Activities from J. Patras and J. McNeil.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by C. Burney to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

- Approval of Minutes of the Monday, April 4, 2016 Regular Meeting and the April 18, 2016 Board/Administrator Workshop & Meeting
- Presentation of May bills for approval and payment
- Approval of Foreign Exchange Student

Vote: C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – Yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes, R. Riggle – absent. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Parks seconded by C. Burney to approve the resignations and contract releases of Jodi Marshall, Jacob Barry, Brenna Neuhaus, Diann Thomas, Derek Gangwish and Drew Danielson effective May 24, 2016 as recommended by the administration.

Vote: A. Parks – yes, A. Clark – yes, J. Marasco – yes, C. Burney – Yes, C. S. Zingler – yes, R. Riggle – absent. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by S. Zingler to appoint the following certificated staff for the 2016-17 school year: Brooke Schluchter, Eula Roth, Ashley Wilson, Rayton Samuelson, Rachel Maurer, Denise Carnahan, Elizabeth Nicholas, Randy Donner, Trisha Kuiper, Emily Christensen, Paige Weber, Brenda Royal, Beth Klootwyk, Ryan Ambrose, Emily Conley and Molly Anderson; and to amend the contract of Kimberly Boham as recommended by the administration.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, C. Burney – Yes, A. Parks – yes, S. Zingler – yes, R. Riggle – absent. Motion Carried.

It was moved by R. Riggle seconded by C. Burney to amend Policy 705.04 (Gifts to School District) and Policy 1005.11 (Gifts and Memorials to School District) as recommended by the Policy Committee and the administration.

Vote: S. Zingler – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – Yes, A. Parks – yes, R. Riggle – absent. Motion Carried.

The Board briefly discussed:

•Graduation Reports from EHS & ESHS Principals

President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 6:52 pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, June 6, 2016. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office.