ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING JUNE 6, 2016

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, A. Clark, R. Riggle, C. Burney, A. Parks and S. Zingler. Board President J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco acknowledged that on May 15, 455 students from EHS and ESHS became the 101st graduating class from Elkhorn Public Schools. Collectively, the class of 2016 earned more than \$22.9 million in scholarships. Elkhorn Public Schools was named the 2016 "Lorraine Giles School Safety" award recipient by the Nebraska chapter of the National Safety Council. The award recognized an EPS program, which focuses on positive decision-making and drinking and driving prevention beginning at the middle school level.

It was moved by R. Riggle seconded by C. Burney to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

- Approval of Minutes of the Monday, May 9, 2016 Regular Meeting
- Approval of Foreign Exchange Student M. Sano/Host Family M. Zimmerman
- Presentation of June bills for approval and payment

Vote: R. Riggle – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – Yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Parks to appoint Ashley Burt, Eric Heath and Sarah Poe for the 2016-17 school year as recommended by the administration.

Vote: A. Parks – yes, A. Clark – yes, J. Marasco – yes, C. Burney – Yes, C. S. Zingler – yes, R. Riggle – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by S. Zingler to approve the mid-term graduation requests for EHS students Joscelyn Bakhit, Emilia Canady, Breanna Cox, Rylee Gano and Anna Newby; and ESHS students Marisa Matulevicz, Samantha Bak, Mackenzie Hays, Sara Warren, Chase Carson, Michael Knudsen, Kaveon Stapleton, Noah Moody, Lindsey Brown and Jordan Smith provided all graduation requirements are met on or prior to December 22, 2016.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – yes, C. Burney – Yes, A. Parks – yes, S. Zingler – yes, R. Riggle – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by C. Burney to approve the school calendars for 2016-17, 2017-18, 2018-19 and 2019-20 school years as recommended by the administration and curriculum committee.

Vote: R. Riggle – yes, S. Zingler – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – Yes, A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by C. Burney to set lunch and breakfast prices for the 2016-17 school year at \$2.45 for Elementary K-5 Lunch, \$3.25 for Middle School 6-8 Lunch, High School 9-12 Lunch \$3.45 and \$3.80 for adult lunch, and no changes were made to breakfast prices as recommended by the administration.

Vote: R. Riggle – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – Yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Parks to set the substitute teacher daily rate at \$140 and the long term rate at \$150 beginning with the 2016-17 school year as recommended by the administration.

Vote: R. Riggle – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Clark – Yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Parks – yes. Motion Carried.

President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 7:15 pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, July 11, 2016. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office.