ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING APRIL 4, 2016

The regular meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 pm. Members present: J. Marasco, C. Burney, A. Clark, R. Riggle, A. Parks and S. Zingler. President J. Marasco noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted on the east wall of the Board Room.

For the "Good News Report" J. Marasco reported that seven ESHS students were top qualifiers at the State DECA Conference in March. Three EHS students and eight ESHS students also earned top 10 finishes. Ethan Fratzke, Nick Keyser, Jack Ellis, Karthik Narayanan, Philip Holubeck, Josh Wax and Sophia Svensen will go on to represent Elkhorn South in Nashville at the end of this month.

During patron comment time the Board heard from Bill Armbrust, 8606 North 216th, Elkhorn, NE. Mr. Armbrust introduced himself and reported on his candidacy for the Nebraska Legislature. The Board also received reports on EHS Student Council Activities from Officers G. Petersen and N. Moreano, and ESHS Student Council Activities from J. McNeill and J. Gideon.

It was moved by S. Zingler seconded by C. Burney to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

- Approval of the Agenda
- Approval of Minutes of the Monday, March 7, 2016 Regular Meeting
- Presentation of April bills for approval and payment

Vote: R. Riggle – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Parks – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by R. Riggle seconded by A. Parks to accept the resignations effective May 24, 2016 or the last contract day of the 2015-16 school year for Brigid Townley, Sarah Vogl, Susan Borchers Zeanah, Reagan Rosenberg and Tabatha Foster with regrets and thanks for service.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, R. Riggle – yes, S. Zingler– yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by A. Clark seconded by S. Zingler to appoint the following certificated staff for the 2016-17 school year: Zachary Wojtowick, John White, Megan Hergenrader, Allison Lex, Andrea Nietfeld, Stacey Denker, Logan Paben, Susan Dinsmore-Talbott; and amend the contract of Sharon Smith as recommended by the administration.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Riggle – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes. Motion Carried.

School Board Minutes April 4, 2016 Page 2

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Parks to set the 2016-17 parent-pay transportation rates at \$44.70 for one-way per month and \$78.65 for round-trip per month as recommended by the administration.

Vote: C. Burney – yes, A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes, R. Riggle – yes, A. Clark – yes, S. Zingler – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by S. Zingler to amend Policy 502.04 (Temporary Non Resident) as recommended by the Policy Committee and the administration

Vote: S. Zingler – yes, R. Riggle – yes, C. Burney – yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, J. Marasco – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by R. Riggle seconded by C. Burney to amend Policy 705.04 (Gifts to School District) and Policy 1005.11 (Gifts and Memorials to School District) as recommended by the Policy Committee and the administration. (Vote on motion will be held over until the May 9 Regular Board Meeting)

It was moved by A. Parks seconded by S. Zingler to approve the Elkhorn High School remodel project bid from Prairie Construction in the amount of \$1,966,000 as recommended by the Buildings & Grounds Committee, the administration and DLR.

Vote: R. Riggle – yes, C. Burney – yes, J. Marasco – yes, A. Parks – yes, S. Zingler – yes, A. Clark – yes. Motion Carried.

It was moved by C. Burney seconded by A. Clark to approve the proposed changes to the Career and Tech. Ed. Curriculum and approve the Unified Sports Proposal as recommended by the administration and Curriculum Committee.

Vote: J. Marasco – yes, R. Riggle – yes, S. Zingler– yes, A. Clark – yes A. Parks – yes, C. Burney – yes. Motion Carried.

The Board received reports on and briefly discussed:

- •Learning Community Open Enrollment Report
- •Upcoming Board Member Events

President J. Marasco adjourned the meeting at 7:02 pm. The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:30 pm on Monday, May 9, 2016. The meeting will be held in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022. Such meeting shall be open to the public and an agenda will be available prior to the meeting at the Superintendent's Office. A Board/Administrator workshop is scheduled for April 18, 2016 beginning at 3:30 pm.